NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 49TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND

SESSION (1990-1991) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 20TH MAY, 1991

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

Speaker (1)

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-President and Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Culture and Social Development and Deputy Prime Minister

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (1)

Cde. K.S. Massiah, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Other Deputy Prime Minister (2)

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Public Utilities (vacant)

Senior Ministers (8)

+*	Cde.	C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finar	ice
+	Cde.	S. Prashad M.P. Senior Minister in th	ne Mi

- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Planning and Development
- Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade and Tourism (Absent)
- + Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Senior Minister in the Office of the President *
 - Cde. Dr. P.L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture
- * Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister of Education
- Cde. J.R. Kranenburg, M.P., Minister of Communications and Works (Absent)

Ministers (8)

	Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Regional Development (Abseu
+	Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister of Labour and Co-operatives on
	Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Utilities leave)
*	Cde. V.V. Parvatan, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
	Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
	Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
	Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
	Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Culture
	and Social Development

- * Non-elected Member
- + Cabinet Member

. *

+*

+

+

Government Chief Whip (1) Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira Other Members (17) Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. R.E. Jackson, O.R., M.P., Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P. Cde. K.B. Bancroft, M.P. Cde. M. Corrica, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P. Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P. Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. Amna Ally, M.P. Cde. N. Calistro, M.P. Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. (Absent) Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P. Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P. Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P. Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P. (Absent) Cde. G. Marshall, M.P. Cde. B. Persaud, J.P., M.P. Cde. K. Sankar, A.A., M.P.

Cde. E.L. Fraser, M.P. Cde. Mignon D. Griffith, M.P. Cde. P.E. Rockliffe, M.P.

(There are two vacancies)

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P. (Absent) Cde. P. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent - on leave)
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Island/West Demerara)
Cde. I. Ally, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Cde. M. Stephens, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)
Cde. Ajoodhia, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Cde. D. Fernandes, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent - on leave)

Members of the Minority (11)

(i) <u>People's Progressave Party (8)</u>

(There are eight vacancies)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent)

(There is one vacancy)

(iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

(Vacant)

OFFICER

Cde. M.B. Henry, Acting Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Acting Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Resignation of Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P.,</u> <u>Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development and</u> <u>Member of the Cabinet.</u>

The Speaker informed the Assembly that he had been advised that Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., resigned his office as Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development and Member of the Cabinet with effect from 1st May, 1991 and that as an elected member he would remain a Member of the National Assembly.

(ii) Filling of Vacancies

The Speaker announced that in accordance with section 99A of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 1:03, he had called upon Dr. C.B. Jagan, who was the Representative of the List of Candidates from which the names of Cdes. C.B. Jagan, Reepu Daman Persaud, Janet Jagan, C. Collymore and F. Mohamed had been extracted following the last general election, and who had resigned with effect from 2nd April, 1991 to further extract from the said list the names of five persons to fill the vacancies.

(iii) Visit by the Speaker of St Lucia

The Speaker informed Members that the Speaker of the House of Assembly of St Lucia, Hon. Wilfred StClair-Daniels, CBE, CStJ, JP, MP, would be visiting Guyana from 21st to 27th May, 1991.

(iv) <u>Death of Sister of Cde. Leon Benjamin, Office Assistant - Parliament</u> Office

The Speaker informed Members that the sister of Cde. Leon Benjamin, Office Assistant, Parliament Office, died on 3rd and was buried on 6th May, 1991. On behalf of Members of the Assembly and his own he extended their deepest symapthy to Cde. Benjamin.

(v) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Parris, Johnson, Melville, Charles and Fernandes for that day's sitting

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

(1) <u>EXPORT AND IMPORT (SPECIAL PROVISIONS) (AMENDMENT) BILL 1991 -</u> Bill No. 10/1991 - published 1991-05-04

The Minister of Regional Development on behalf of the Minister of Finance presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Export and Import (Special Provisions) Act 1986.

(2) CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) (NO. 2) BILL 1991 - Bill No. 11/1991 published 1991-05-07

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT to effect certain alterations to the Constitution in accordance with articles 66 and 164 thereof.

(3) PUBLIC UTILITY UNDERTAKINGS AND PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES ARBITRATION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1991 - Bill No. 12/1991

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the Public Utility Undertakings and Public Health Services Arbitration Act.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.07 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 29th May, 1991.

s. NARAIN Speaker 91-05-29

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, Guyana.

1991-05-24