NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 2ND SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1981) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 4.30 P.M.

ON MONDAY. 9TH FEBRUARY, 1981.

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (82),

Speaker (1)

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (69)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P.

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

Cde, S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., (Works and Transport)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P. (Économic Planning and Finance) Cde. H. Green, M.P. (Public Welfare)

Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P. (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations)

Senior Ministers (10)

Cde, R. Chandisingh, M.P. (Higher Education)

Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., (Regional Development)

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P. (National Development)

*Cde. F.E. Hbpe, M.P. (Trade and Consumer Protection) *Cde, H.O. Jack, M.P. (Energy and Mines)

*Cdo. M. Shahabuddean, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General (Justice) (Absent)
*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., (Foreign Affairs) (Absent - on leave)
*Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P. (Agriculture) (Absent - on leave)

*Cde. S. Moore, M.P. (Home Affairs)

*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P. (Education)

Ministers (13)

- Cdc. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. (Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare)
 - U. Johnson, M.P. (Co-operatives)
 - J. Maitland-Singh, M.P. (Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection)
- Cde, S. Prashad, M.P. (Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P. (Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance)
- Cde. R. Williams, M.P. (Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- *Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P. (Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport)
- *Cde, F.U.A. Campbell, M.P. (Information)
- *Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P. (Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
 *Cde. Y. Harewood-Benn, M.P. (Public Service)
 *Cde. H. Rashid, M.P. (Office of the President)

- *Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P. (Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- *Cde. R. Van West-Charles, M.P. (Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare)

```
Ministers of State (3)
```

```
Cdo. M. Corrica, M.P. (Culture, in the Ministry of Education)
 Cde. R. Fredericks, A.A., M.P. (Sport and Youth, in tho Ministry
      of National Development)
* Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P. (Construction, in the Ministry of Works and
       Transport)
 Parliamentary Secretaries (3)
 Cde, A. Bend-Kirton, M.P. (Women's Affairs and Housing)
Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. (Office of the Prime Minister)
*Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., (Office of the Prime Minister)
 Other Members (23)
 Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
 Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
 Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
 Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
 Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.
 Cdo. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
 Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
 Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
 Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
 Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
 Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
 Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
 Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
 Cde. J. Gill, M.P.
 Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
 Cde. J.M. Munroe, M.P.
 Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
 Cde. C.G. Sharma, M.P.
 Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
 Cde. S.H. Sükhu, M.S., M.P.
 Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
 Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
 Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip
 Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)
 Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
 Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.
 Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)
 Cde. K. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
 Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent -
       on leave)
 Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
 Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
 Cde. H. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
 Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
 Cde. N. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
 Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
 Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
```

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Domorara/Berbice

/...

^{*} Non elected Member

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P. (Absent)

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip (Absent)

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent) Cde. C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent) Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Jackson, Tyndall and Jairam for that day's sitting.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.35 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker to receive the President and Cde. Viola Burnham.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.17 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

ARRIVAL OF THE PRESIDENT AND CDE. VIOLA BURNHAM

The President and Cdo. Wiola Burnham entered the Chamber and took their places on the dais.

ADDRESS BY THE PRESIDENT

The President addressed the Assembly and presented a copy of the address to the Speaker.

THANKS TO THE PRESIDENT

The Speaker, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly, thanked the President and, thereafter presented the Address to the Assembly.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.00 p.m. on a motion by the Vice-President (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, 12th February, 1981.

S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 11th February, 1981.