NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 5TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1981) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 20TH FEBRUARY, 1981

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (82)

Speaker (1)

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (69)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P.

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P. (Works and Transport)
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P. (Economic Planning and Finance)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P. (Public Welfare)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P. (Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations (Absent - on leave)

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P. (Higher Education)
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. (Regional Development)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P. (National Development)
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P. (Trade and Consumer Protection)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P. (Energy and Mines)
- * Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P. Attorney-General (Justice)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P. (Foreign Affairs)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P. (Agriculture)(Absent on leave)
- * Cde. S. Moore, M.P. (Home Affairs)
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P. (Education) (Absent)

Ministers (13)

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. (Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare)
- Cde. U. Johnson, M.P. (Co-operatives)
- Cde. J. Maitland-Singh, M.P. (Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P. (Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P. (Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance)
- Cde. R. Williams, M.P. (Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- * Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P. (Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P. (Information)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P. (Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
 * Cde. Y. Harewood-Benn, M.P. (Public Service) (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P. (Office of the President)
- * Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P. (Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture)
- * Cde. R. Van West-Charles, M.P. (Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare) (Absent - on leave)

/...

Ministers of State (3)

```
Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., (Culture, in the Ministry of Education)
```

- (Sport and Youth, in the Ministry Cde. R. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., of National Development)
- Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P. (Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

```
Cde. A. Bend-Kirton, M.P. (Women's Affairs and Housing)
```

Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. (Office of the Prime Minister)

*Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P. (Office of the Prime Minister)

Other Members (23)

```
Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
```

Cde. M. Ally, M.P.

Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.

Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.

Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.

Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.

Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.

Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.

Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.

Cde. J. Gill, M.P.

Cde. A. MaRae, M.P.

Cde. J.M. Munroe, M.P.

Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.

Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.

Cde. H.L.B Singh, M.P.

Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.

Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.

Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.

Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. K. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) (Absent)

Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent)

Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. H. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P.(Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. N. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. C. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran. M.P.

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Ramsaroop, Van West-Charles, Chin and Tiwari who had gone to the Airport to receive the Delegation from the People's Republic of China, and
- (b) Cde. Fowler for that day's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the Vice-President (Economic Planning and Finance):

Estimates of the Revenues and Expenditure for the financial year 1981.

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER

Suspension of Standing Orders Nos. 9(2) and 32(9)

On a motion by Cde. Clarke, Senior Minister (Regional Development), paragraph (2) of Standing Order No. 9 and paragraph (9) of Standing Order No. 32 were suspended to enable the Vice-President (Economic Planning and Finance) to complete the reading of the Budget Speech uninterrupted, and the sitting to continue without being suspended at 4.00 p.m.

MOTION - APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1981

In accordance with article 171 (2) of the Constitution, the Vice-President (Economic Planning and Finance) signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for 1981. (See Appendix).

After the motion was proposed, the Vice-President (Economic Planning and Finance) named Tuesday 24th February, 1981, as the day for the resumption of the debate on the motion.

ADJ OURNMENT

At 3.45 p.m., on a motion by Cde. Clarke, Senior Minister (Regional Development), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Tuesday, 24th February, 1981.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 24th February, 1981.