NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 14TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1281) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 3RD APRIL, 1981

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (82)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (69)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works and Transport
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance (Absent)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations (Absent)

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Higher Education (Absent on leave)
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Development (Absent)
- *Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- *Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent)
- *Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent on leave)
- *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Abment ~ on leave)
- *Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- *Cde. S.A. Moore, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent)
- *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent)

Ministers (13)

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister, Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare
- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives (Absent)
- Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P., Minister, Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. 5. Prashad, M.P., Minister, Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P., Minister, Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- *Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport (Absent on leave)
- *Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent)
- *Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister, Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)

- * Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Service
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister, Office of the President (Absent)
- * Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister, Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent - on leave)
- * Cde. R.A. Van West-Eharles, M.P., Minister, Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare (Absent)

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State for Culture, in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, in the Ministry of National Development
- * Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P., Minister of State for Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport (Absent - on leave)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Women's Affairs and Housing (Absent)
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)
- * Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Other Members (23)

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. B Bhaggan, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cle. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.,
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., N.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P., (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini) (Absent)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 ~ Pomeroon/Supenaam)
 Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 ~ Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)

Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader ()

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cdc. Ram Karram, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent) Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Clork of the National Assembly, Cdg. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

Prayers

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Dr. Reid, Cde. Chandisingh, Cde. Dr. Shahabuddeen, Cdes. Jackson, Nascimento, Van Sluytman, Corrica, Wright and Rayman for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

ITEM 1 _ CONFIRMATION OF CONSUMPTION TAX (AMENDMENT) ORDER 1981 (No. 18)

The Minister, Finance, on behalf of the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, moved the following motion which was put and carried:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in accordance with section 5 of the Consumption Tax Act, Chapter 80:02, confirm the Consumption Tax (Amendment) Order 1981 (No. 18), which was made on 9th March, 1981, and published in the Gazette on 21st March, 1981.

ITEM 2. - CONFIRMATION OF CUSTOMS DUTIES ORDER 1981 (No. 19)

The Minister, Finance, on Behalf of the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, moved the following motion which was put and <u>carried</u>:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in accordance with section 9 of the Customs Act, Chapter 82:01, confirm the Customs Duties Order 1981 (No. 19), which was made on 9th March, 1981, and published in the Gazette on 21st March, 1981.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.07 p.m., on a motion by Cde. O.E. Clarke, Minister of Regional Development, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN
Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown, 7th April, 1981.