NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 22ND SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1981) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 2ND OCTODER, 1981

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMDER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (82)

Speaker (1)

Edc. Sasc Warain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - Poople's National Congress (69)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works and Transport (Absent)
- Cde. H.D. Hoyto, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance (Absent)
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. D. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/ State Relations

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Higher Education (Absent on leave)
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. Minister of Regional Development (Absent on leave)
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Development
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent)
- * Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. S.A. Moore, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent)

Ministers (13)

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister, Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives
- Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P., Minister, Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent on leave)
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister, Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P., Minister, Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- * Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P., Minister, Mechanical Equipment, in the Ministry of Works and Transport (Absent)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campball, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent)
- Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister, Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture

- * Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Service
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister, Office of the President (Absent - on leave)
- * Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister, Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- * Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister, Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare (Absent)

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State for Culture, in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, in the Ministry of National Development
- * Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P., Minister of State for Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport (Absent - on leave)

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Women's Affairs and Housing
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister

Other Members (23)

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde, H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/£upenaam)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)

[&]quot;Mion Elected Member

Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)
Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)(Absort)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Chandisingh, Clarke, Shahabuddeen, Moore, Maitland-Singh, Rashid, Wright, P. Fredericks and Tiwari for that day's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS ETC.

By the Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations, on behalf of the Minister of Home Affairs:

> Annual Report of the Guyana Prison Service for the year 1977.

> > (HA:1/1/2/1^{III})(Circulated)

PUDLIC DUSINESS

BILLS - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 1 - NATIONAL INSURANCE DOARD (TRANSFER OF SUPERVISION AND CONTROL) DILL 1981 - Dill No. 9/1981 published 24.9.61

The Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance, on behalf of the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Dill intituled An Act to amend certain enactments for the purpose of transferring the supervision and control of the National Insurance Board from the Guyana State Corporation to the Co-operative Finance Administration.

Cde. N. Persaud spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance, replied.

The Bill was then read a second time and was taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

ITEM 2 - PREMIUM DONDS BILL 1981 - Bill No. 10/1981 published 24.9.81

The Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance, on behalf of the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, moved the second reading of the following Eill:

A Dill intituled An Act to authorise the raising of loans by the Government, by the issue of Premium Donds, for purposes related to the defence of Guyana and for other purposes.

The Bill was read a second time and was taken through its remaining stages and passed as printed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.55 p.m., on a motion by the Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN G.M.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 9th November, 1984.