NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 24TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1981) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 13TH NOVEMBER, 1981

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (81)

Speaker (1)

* Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (68)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works and Transport
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations

Senior Ministers (10)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Higher Education
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Minister of Regional Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Development
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent)
- * Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A., M.P., Minister of Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. S.A. Moore, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Education

Ministers (12)

- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister, Environment and Water Supply, in the Ministry of Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives
- Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P., Minister, Consumer Protection, in the Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister, Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Finist Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P., Minister, Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- * Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P., Minister of Information (Absent on leave)
- * Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P., Minister, Forestry, in the Ministry of Agriculture

- * Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Service
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister, Office of the President
- * Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, M.P., Minister, Drainage and Irrigation, in the Ministry of Agriculture
- * Cde. R.A. Vam West-Charles, M.P., Minister, Health, in the Ministry of Public Welfare (Absent)

Ministers of State (3)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State for Culture, in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sport, in the Ministry of National Development
- * Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P., Minister of State for Construction, in the Ministry of Works and Transport

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Women's Affairs and Housing
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
- * Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary. Office of the Prime Minister

Other Members (23)

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaem)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
 - * Non elected Member

Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)(Absent)

Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Campbell for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 4/1981

The Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 171 (2) of the Constitution, the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, signified Cabinet's recommendation that the Assembly should proceed upon the motion to approve Financial Paper No. 4 of 1981, and thereafter moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 4/1981 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates - Advances made from the Contingencies Fund for the period ended 31st October, 1981 - totalling \$20,164,851.

A motion by the Minority Leader that Item 2 of section "A" of the Schedule be reduced to \$1.00 was put and negatived.

After consideration of the Schedule, the motion for the approval of the Financial Paper was put and carried.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

"RESOLVED, That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 4/1981 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates - Advances made from the Contingencies Fund for the period ended 31st October, 1981 - totalling \$20,164,851."

> S. NARAIN Speaker

ADJOURNMENT

At 3.10 p.m., on a motion by the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 20th November, 1981