NATIONAL ASSEMDLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 21ST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1283-1284) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON TUESDAY 1984-02-07

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, D.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (57)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Production

- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Matters
- *Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, G.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President and
 - Attorney General

Senior Ministers (6)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs *Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines *Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Planning (Absent)

Ministers (7)

Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister

- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sports within
- the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture (Absent-on leave) Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency of Social Infrastructure
- *Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and Public Service
- *Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare
- *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives

Ministers of State (2)

- Cde, M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development (Absent on leave)

* Non elected Member

/...

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, within the
- Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, in the Office of
- the Prime Minister
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, within the Ministry of Agriculture

Other Members (22)

```
Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.
Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
Cde. 0.E. Clarke, M.P.
Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
Cde. E. Melville, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
Cde. R.N. Prima, M.P.
Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
Cdc. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P. (Absent)
```

<u>Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)</u>

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Absent) Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (9)

```
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Cde. D. Abraham, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Sipanni) (Absent)
Cde. D. Hinds, M.P., (Region No.10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
```

/...

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (10)</u>

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

(ii) United Force (.2)

```
Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.
```

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly; Cde. M.B. Hepry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENIS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cde. Basir from 1984-02-07 to 1984-02-10.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

TAX (AMENDMENT) BILL 1984 - Bill No. 3/1984 published

1984-01-31 Vice-Fresident, Production, on behalf of the

The/Minister of Finance and Economic Planning, xcaxkakakfxgfxtha Gayeywaat presented the following Bill which was read the first time:-

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Tax Act.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1984

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1984.

Mr. M.F. Singh, the Vice-President, Party and State Matters, Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud and the Minister of National Mobilisation spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 15:58 hrs the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 16:25 hrs the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection, the Minister of Information and Public Service, the Deputy Speaker, and the Minister of Foreign Affairs spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 18:20 hrs the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 20:00 hrs the sitting was resumed.

The Minority Leader and the Prime Minister spoke to the motion.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to receive and consider the Report of the Business Sub-Committee concerning the allocation of time for the consideration of the 1984 Estimates of Expenditure by the Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

Following a report by the Chairman of the Business Sub-Committee and a motion by the Vice-President, Production, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Resolution of the Business Sub-Committee.

Assembly resumed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 22:00 hrs on a motion by the Vice-President, Party and State Matters, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Wednesday 1984-02-08.

h MARAIN Speaker 84-6°

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1984-02-08.