#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## OF THE 38TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983-1984) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

#### AT 14:00 hrs

#### ON MONDAY 1984-12-03

# IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

## MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

#### Speaker (1)

\*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

#### Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Prime Minister

## Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructure and First Deputy Prime Minister

## Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

\*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice—President, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Development and Deputy Prime Minister

## Other Deputy Prime Minister (1)

\*Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning

#### Senior Ministers (8)

- \*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- \*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation (Absent)
- Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent on leave) \*Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister of Forestry
- ${\tt Cde.\ R.A.\ Van\ West-Charles,\ M.F.,\ Minister\ of\ Health\ and\ Public\ Welfare}$
- \*Cde. M.L. Parris, M.P., Minister of Education

#### Ministers (6)

- Cde. Urmia Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Development
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education
- \*Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency of Social Infrastructure
- \*Cde• Dr. S.P. DaSi3"a, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture

## Ministers of State (2)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cdc. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional Development

## Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare (Absent)
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Youth
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, National Development (Absent on leave)

## Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Bidiawattie Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip

## Other Members (24)

- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. Philomena A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. Patricia Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (One seat Vacant)

# Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P.

## Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. Dianne Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni) (Absent)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P., Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. Cora A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) (Vacant) (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

## Members of the Minority (12)

## (i) People's Progressive Party (10)

#### Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

## Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

#### Other Members (8)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde, H. Nokta, M.P.

## (ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

#### **OFFICERS**

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

## **PRAYERS**

The Clerk read Prayers

# ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

## Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Rashid and Bhaggan for that day's sitting and
- (b) Cde. Williams up to 1984-12-08.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

# BILLS - Second and Third Readings

# ITEM 1 - RICE (REGULATION OF MANUFACTURING AND MARKETING) BILL 1984 - Bill No. 17/1984 published 1984-12-24

The Prime Minister informed the Assembly that as a result of a request by the Minority Leader Government had decided to defer the second reading of the following Bill to Monday 1984-12-10:

A Bill intituled An Act to make provisions for regulation of the manufacture and marketing of rice, for securing the further development of rice industry, for the establishment of the National Padi and Rice Grading Centre, the Guyana Rice Milling and Marketing Authority and the Guyana Rice Export Board, and for matters connected therewith.

# ITEM 2 - PUBLIC CORPORATIONS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1983 - Bill No. 21/1983 published 1983-10-22

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Public Corporations Act.

The motion was put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time and was, thereafter, taken through its remaining stages and passed with the following correction:

The year "1984" was substituted for the year "1983" in Clause  $1_{\bullet}$ 

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 14:10 hrs on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Monday 1984-12-10 r

S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown ... 1984-12-05