NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 3RD SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1986) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 HRS

ON THURSDAY 1986-02-06

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Ministersin the Cabinet (10)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Mobilisation, and Deputy Prime Minister (Absent on leave)
- Cde. Viola V. Burnham, O.R., M.P., Vice-President, Education and Social Development, and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Minister (2)

- Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Agriculture

Senior Ministers (4)

- Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- *Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport
- *Cde. W.S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Trade (Absent on leave)

Other Ministers (11)

Senior Ministers (3)

- Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Manpower, Housing and Environment
- Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister o Health (Absent on leave)
- Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and the Public Service

^{*}Non-elected Member

Ministers (4)

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Mobilisation (Absent - on leave)
- *Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister within the Office of the President
- *Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education

Ministers of State (4)

- *Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Manpower, Housing and Environment
- Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Forestry
- *Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Planning and Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the President
- Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Home Affairs
- *Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Education

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P., Government Chief Whip

Other Members (24)

- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.
- Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton Holder, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad-Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P.
- Cde. Amna Ally, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. L. Arthur, M.P.
- Cde. J.R.L. Bovell-Drakes, M.P.
- Cde. N. Calistro, M.P.
- Cde. G.W. Chin, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P.
- Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.
- Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P.
- Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P.
- Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P. (Absent on leave)
- Cde. G. Marshall, M.P.
- Cde. B. Persaud, M.P.
- Cde. E.W. Trotman, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. E. Mohamed, M.P.
- Cde. Rose I. Semple, M.P.
- *Non-elected Member

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Nellie R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. Bhagmatee Latchminarayan, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. Y. Khan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Cde. Enid E. Abrahams, M.S., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. I. Ally, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. Patricia A. Daniel, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
Cde. B.L. Domingo, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Cde. S.I.M. Garrell, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. M. Stephens, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo

Members of the Minority (11)

(i) People's Progressive Party (8)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P.

Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

(iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.P.

OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Chandisingh, Johnson, Amna Ally and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting, and
- (b) Cde. Geddes until 1986-02-14

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF GOVERNMENT'S POLICY IN PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

The Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development, moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly approves of the Government's policy adumbrated in the President's Address which was made to the Assembly on Tuesday, 4th February, 1986.

The Minority Leader, the Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the President, Cde. S.F. Mohamed and the Parliamentary Secretary, Home Affairs, spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 16:07 hrs the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 16:30 hrs the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of State within the Ministry of Agriculture, Cde. Collymore, the Parliamentary Secretary, Education, Mr. M.A. Abraham, Cdes. E. Mohamed and E.E. Abrahams spoke to the motion.

THANKS

The Speaker on behalf of the Deputy Speaker and his own, thanked Members for congratulating them. He also congratulated those Members who had made thair maiden speeches.

ADJOURNMENT

At 18:22 hrs, on a motion by the Minister of Manpower, Housing and Environment, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Friday 1986-02-07.

Speaker 6.67.07.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

1986-02-07