NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 11TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1986) OF THE FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 HRS

ON TUESDAY 1986-04-15

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER. PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (73)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Ministers in the Cabinet (10)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde, H. Green, M.P., Prime Minister (Absent)

Other Vice-President and First Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Vice-President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General

Other Vice-Presidents and Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Vice-President, National Mobilisation, and Deputy Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)

Cde.Viola V. Burnham, D.R., M.P., Vice-President, Education and Social Development, and Deputy Prime Minister

Other Deputy Prime Ministers (2)

Cde. W.A.L.H. Parris, C.C.H., M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Planning and Development (Absent)

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Agriculture (Absent)

Senior Ministers (4)

Other Ministers (11)

Senior Ministers (3)

Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Manpower, Housing and Environment Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health

Cde. Yvonne V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and the Public Service

<u>Ministers (4)</u>

- Cde. Urmia E.H. Johnson, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of National Mobilisation
- *Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, A.A., J.P., M.P., Minister within the Office of the President (Absent)

*Cde. D.M.A. Bernard, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Education(Absent) *Non-elected Member Ministers of State (4)

- *Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Manpower, Housing and Environment
- Cde. J.T. Kissoon, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. D. Sawh, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Forestry (Absent)
- *Cde. Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministry of Planning and Development

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.K. Habibulla, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the President
- Cde. Stella Odie-Ali, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Home Affairs *Cde. Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary,
 - Education

Government Chief Whip (1)

Cde. Jennifer A. Ferreira, M.P., Government Chief Whip (Absent)

Other Members (24)

Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Agnes W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. Joyce Gill-Mingo, M.P. Cde. M. Ally, M.P. Cde. Bissoondai Beniprashad-Rayman, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. Elaine B. Davidson, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cdc. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. Joyce M. Munroe, J.P., M.P. (Absent) Cde. Edwina Melville, M.P. (Absent) Cde. Amna Ally, M.P. Cde. L.R. Arthur, M.P. Cde. J.R.L. Bovell-Drakes, M.P. (Absent) Cde. N. Calistro, M.P. Cde. G.W. Chin, J.P., M.P. Cde. F.M. Cumberbatch, M.P. Cde. M.I. Deen, M.P. Cde. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. Cde. Edith Deygoo, M.P. Cde. Clarice A. Edwards, M.P. Cde. C.L. Geddes, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. G. Marshall, M.P. Cde. B. Persaud. M.P. Cde. E.W. Trotman, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. E. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. Rose I, Semple, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

Cde. Patricia A. Daniel, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbicc) (Absent)
Cde. B.L. Domingo, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Cde. S.I. McGarrell, M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Cde. M. Stephens, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo (Absent)

Members of the Minority (11)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Farty (8)</u>

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (6)

Cde. Janet Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P., Minority Chief Whip Cde. H. Nokta, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

(iii) Working People's Alliance (1)

Mr. E. Kwayana, M.I'.

OFFICERS

Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly Cde. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Davidson, Charles and Goddes for that day's sitting.

(ii) Late Consultation with Speaker

The Speaker informed Members that inspite of his advice to them that they should desist from consulting him minutes before a sitting, yet he was approached at the very last moment before that sitting by a Member. He felt it was a display of disrespect for his Office which left him with no option but to enforce compliance with the Standing Orders. PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS. ETC.

(1) By the <u>Minister of Manpower</u>, <u>Housing and Environment</u> on <u>behalf of the Prime Minister</u>:

 (i) Local Democratic Organs (Modification of the Representation of the People Act) Regulations 1985 (No. 14), made under section 68 of the Local Democratic Organs Act 1980 (No. 12), and published in the Gazette on 23rd November, 1985.

(RD: 8/3/5) (Circulated)

 (ii) Reviews (2) of the Operations of the Sugar Industry Labour Welfare Fund for the years 1983 and 1984.

(OP: 6/5) (Circulated)

(iii) Report of the Ministry of Works for the year 1985.

(GN: 31/14)(Circulated)

(iv) Report of the Plant Maintenance and Hire Division for the year 1985.

(Circulated)

(2) By the <u>Minister of Finance</u>:

External Loans Order 1986 (No. 20), made under section 3(7) of the External Loans Act, Chapter 74:08, and published in the Gazette on 12th April, 1986.

(Circulated)

<u>REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON</u> DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

United States of America's Bombardment of Libya

The Minority Leader sought leave to move the adjournment of the Assembly for the purpose of discussing the bombardment of Libya by the United States of America.

The Speaker did not allow the claim as the matter did not qualify to be raised on a motion for the adjournment of the Assembly.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second Reading

<u>ITEM 1</u> - <u>OFF-SHOR BANKING BILL 1986 - Bill No. 4/1986</u> published 1986-03-15

The Minister of Finance moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A Bill intituled An Act to enable certain banking and other businesses to be carried on from within Guyana in foreign moneys, securities and properties for foreign customers.

The Minority Leader spoke to the motion.

Postponement of further Consideration of the Bill

At the request of Mr. M.F. Singh, it was agreed to postpone the second reading of the Bill to Thursday 1986-04-17, in order to allow Members to study the effect of proposed amendments to the Bill

<u>MOTION</u>

ITEM 2 - AFFIRMATION OF THE EXTERNAL LOANS ORDER 1986 (NO. 20)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly affirms the External Loans Order 1986 (No. 20), which was made under section 3(7) of the External Loans Act, Chapter 74:08, and published in the Gazette on 12th April, 1986.

The Minority Leader and Mr. Kwayana spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

The motion was put and carried.

ADJOURNMENT

At 15:50 hrs, on a motion by the Minister of Manpower, Housing and Environment, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Thursday 1986-04-17.

s Nerain 17 Speaker 04-17

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1986-04-17