Published on 29th December, 1980

DECLARATION

Under

THE REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE ACT

(Chapter 1:03)

GENERAL ELECTIONS

DECLARATION OF RESULTS

In accordance with section 99 of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 1:03, the Elections Commission hereby declares that the results of the General Elections held on 15th December, 1980, pursuant to article 60 (2) of the Constitution are as follows:—

(a)

The number of votes cast for each list of candi-

(4)	dates is as follows:	
	People's National Congress:	312,988
	People's Progressive Party:	78,414
	United Force:	11,612
	Total number of valid votes:	403,014
(b)	The number of rejected ballot papers is:	3,251
(c)	The number of seats allocated to each List of	
	Candidates is as follows:	
	People's National Congress:	41
	People's Progressive Party:	10
	United Force:	2
	Total	53

(d) The names of persons who, as a result of the election, have become members of the National Assembly are as follows:

(i) PEOPLE'S NATION CONGRESS

Donald A. Ainsworth

Mohamed Ally

Milton Armogan

Agnes Bend-Kirton

Bissoondai Beniprashad

Basdeo Bhaggan

Joseph B. Caldeira

Ranji Chandisingh

Allan A. Chin

Joshua Chowritmootoo

Oscar E. Clarke

Robert H. O. Corbin

Malcolm Corrica

Elaine B. Davidson

Harry Doobay

Abel Benjamin Felix

Eugene H. A. Fowler

Patricia Fredericks

Roy Fredericks

Eugene F. Gilbert

Joyce Gill

Hamilton Green

Hugh D. Hoyte

Urmia Johnson

Jean N. Maitland-Singh

Albert McRae

Joyce M. Munroe

Shiw S. Naraine

Seeram Prashad

Ryburn N. Primo

Bishwaishwar Ramsaroop

Philomena A. Rayman

Ptolemy A. Reid

Sallahuddin

Chintaman G. Sharma

Harold L. B. Singh

Sydney H. Sukhu

Bidiawattie Tiwari

Calvin Vandenburg

Huldah B. Walcott

Robert E. Williams.

(ii) PEOPLE'S PROGRESSIVE PARTY

Cheddi Jagan

Ram Karran

Janet Jagan

Reepu Daman Persaud

Narbada Persaud

Clinton Collymore

Sheik Feroze Mohamed

Isahak Basir

Cyril Belgrave

Dalchand

(iii) UNITED FORCE

Michael Anthony Abraham Marcellus Feilden Singh

Dated this 28th day of December, 1980.

Elections Commission.

Elections Commission.

H. B. S. Bollers, Chairman.

> L. A. Luckhoo, Member.