## **NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

## SUPPLEMENTARY ORDER PAPER

# FOR THE 31<sup>ST</sup> SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006 - 2007) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA TO BE HELD

# AT 2.00 P.M.

# ON THURSDAY, 9<sup>TH</sup> AUGUST, 2007

# IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

## SUPPLEMENTARY BUSINESS FOR SITTING

# PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS-

(1) By the Speaker of the National Assembly:

Report of the Auditor General on the Public Accounts of Guyana and on the Accounts of the Ministries, Departments and Regions for the fiscal year ended 31st December, 2005.

(To be Circulated)

(2) By the Minister of Finance:

Audited Accounts of the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance for the year ended 31st December, 2006.

(To be Circulated)

# REPORTS FROM COMMITTEES-

(3) By Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chairperson of the Committee on Appointments:

Third Report of the Committee on Appointments in relation to the Appointment of Members of the Police Service Commission.

(To be Circulated)

## **PUBLIC BUSINESS**-

#### (i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

#### **MOTION**

Speaker's consent obtained in accordance with Standing Order No. 28(2) for the following motion to be proceeded with at this sitting:

#### 2. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE ETHNIC RELATIONS COMMISSION

The Minister of Health to move the following motion:

WHEREAS the Parliamentary Committee of Appointments provided for in Article 119C of the constitution and established in the 9<sup>th</sup> Parliament on December 21, 2006 has been meeting regularly and has tabled three Reports, one Special Report and 4 motions to the National Assembly;

AND WHEREAS the Committee of Appointments tabled a Motion proposing a list of 162 entities to consult with a new consensual mechanism for such consultations in relation to the Ethnic Relations Commission which had been unanimously supported by the said Committee;

AND WHEREAS this Motion on May 10, 2007 failed to achieve the support of twothirds of the House as required by the constitution;

AND WHEREAS the Committee has since tried inclusive of its August 7<sup>th</sup> meeting to resolve the issue with a view to returning the matter for the attention of the House before the recess;

AND WHEREAS consensus on the way forward has not been obtained and the issues preventing the reconstitution of the ERC may remain unresolved for an extended period of time;

AND WHEREAS the term of office of the current Ethnic Relations Commissioners will come to an end in August 2007 while the Commission under Article 212A will continue to exist;

#### BE IT RESOLVED:

That the National Assembly takes note of this serious development;

#### AND BE IT RESOLVED:

That the House so informs the President of the Republic;

#### AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly calls on the President to take such steps so as to enable the Ethnic Relations Commission to continue to carry out its constitutional responsibilities in the interim.

(Notice Paper No. 178 (M43 Govt25) published on 2007-08-08)

# (ii) <u>COMMITTEE BUSINESS</u>

#### **MOTION**

3. ADOPTION OF THIRD REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS
IN RELATIONS TO THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE POLICE
SERVICE COMMISSION

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chairperson of the Committee on Appointments to move the following motion:

#### BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly adopts the Third Report of the Standing Committee to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of Commissions established under the Constitution, and signifies to the President that the following persons:

- (i) Mr. Ivan Crandon, D.S.M., Retired Deputy Commissioner of Police;
- (ii) Mr. Harold Martin, Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police;
- (iii) Mr. Franchot Duncan Clarke, Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police; and
- (iv) Mr. Dennis Morgan, A.A., Former Chairman of the Police Service Commission

have been nominated in accordance with Article 210 (1)(c) of the Constitution to be appointed Members of the Police Service Commission.

(Notice Paper No. 177 (M42 Private Member No. 4) published on 2007-08-07)

S.E ISAACS
Clerk of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Brickdam.

9<sup>th</sup> August, 2007.