**GUYANA** 

No. 65 of 1970.

## ORDER

## MADE UNDER

THE MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS ACT, 1969, (No. 24 of 1969).

UNDER SECTION 33 OF THE MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS ACT, 1969, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE MINISTER AS FOLLOWS:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Naarstigheid/Union Local Government District (Constitution) Order, 1970.
- 2. That portion of Guyana in the county of Berbice, the boundaries of which are set out in the schedule, is hereby established as a local government district to be known by the name of "The Naarstigheid/Union Local Government District", hereinafter referred to as "the district".
- 3. The district council for the district shall have the name of "The Naarstigheid/Union District Council", hereinafter referred to as "the District Council", and shall consist of fifteen councillors.
- 4. The District Council may, in each year, appropriate out of its funds a sum not exceeding five hundred dollars to be placed at the disposal of the Chairman payable in equal instalments at the end of each quarter of the year.
- 5. The District Council shall appoint and at all times maintain a Finance Committee as a Standing Committee.
  - 6. There shall be a Superintendent of Works for the District Council.
- 7. The District Council shall have power to do all or any of the things specified in section 301 of the Act except the things specified in paragraphs (22) and (26) thereof.

## SCHEDULE

Clause 2

## BOUNDARIES OF THE NAARSTIGHEID/UNION LOCAL GOVERNMENT DISTRICT—

Bring all that area situate in the County of Berbice and bounded as follows—

On the North — by the common boundary between Union and Tempé and its prolongation westwards; and the northern boundary of Grant 4961.

Bath; and the western boundaries of tracts held by the
Berbice Development Company Limited, under Licence
of Occupancy 558, and Wellington Co-operative Land
Society Limited under M.P. 576/62.

On the East — by the Atlantic Ocean.
On the West — by the Abary River.

Ordered this 7th day of September, 1970.

HAMILTON GREEN, Minister assigned responsibility for Local Government.

by the common boundary between Naarstigheid and