## ORDER

MADE UNDER

THE MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS ACT, 1969, (No. 24 of 1969).

UNDER SECTION 33 OF THE MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS ACT, 1969, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED BY THE MINISTER AS FOLLOWS:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Triumph/Beterverwagting Local Government District (Constitution) Order, 1970.
- 2. That portion of Guyana in the County of Demerara, the boundaries of which are set out in the schedule, is hereby established as a local government district to be known by the name of "The Triumph/Beterverwagting Local Government District", hereinafter referred to as "the district".
- 3. The district council for the district shall have the name of "The Triumph/Beterverwagting District Council", hereinafter referred to as "the District Council", and shall consist of twelve councillors.
- 4. The District Council may, in each year, appropriate out of its funds a sum not exceeding five hundred dollars to be placed at the disposal of the Chairman payable in equal instalments at the end of each quarter of the year.
  - 5. The District Council shall appoint and at all times maintain—
    - (a) a Finance Committee;(b) a Works Committee;
    - (c) a Market Committee,
- as Standing Committees.

A box send to send A send

- 6. There shall be a Superintendent of Works and a Clerk of the Market for the District Council.
- 7. The District Council shall have power to do all or any of the things specified in section 301 of the Act except the things specified in paragraphs (22) and (26) thereof.

SCHEDULE

Clause 2

## BOUNDARIES OF THE TRIUMPH/BETERVERWAGTING LOCAL GOVERNMENT DISTRICT—

Being all that area situate in the County of Demerara and bounded as follows—

On the North — by the Atlantic Ocean.

On the South — by the East Demerara Water Supply Canal.

Triumph and Mon Repos, and its prolongation southwards.

On the West — by the common boundary between La Bonne Intention and Beterverwagting, and its prolongation southwards.

HAMILTON (

Ordered this 7th day of September, 1970.

On the East

HAMILTON GREEN, Minister assigned responsibility for Local Government.

- by the eastern boundary of the Company Path between