THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA (2006-2007)

THIRD REPORT

OF THE

COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS

IN RELATION TO THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE POLICE SERVICE COMMISSION

COMMITTEES DIVISION PARLIAMENT OFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS GEORGETOWN

9TH AUGUST 2007

THIRD REPORT

Introduction

1. The Standing Committee established under the Constitution to address matters relating to the appointment of members of commissions, pursuant to Article 119C of the Constitution and under the provisions of Standing Order No. 84, has agreed to the following as the Third Report –

Members of the Committee

2. At a meeting of the Committee of Selection held on 14th December, 2006, the following Members were nominated to the Committee on Appointments to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of the Commission:

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic:

- (i) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P.
- (v) The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P.
- (vi) Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform - 1 Guyana:

- (i) Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P.
- (ii) Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.
- (iii) Ms. Amna Ally, M.P.

Member from the Alliance For Change:

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P.

Election of Chairman

3. The Committee at its first meeting held on 21st December, 2006 unanimously elected Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P. as its Chairperson.

Terms of Reference

- 4. The Committee, by Resolution No. 17 passed by the National Assembly on 8th May, 2003, was entrusted to discharge the following functions in relation to the appointment of a member of the Commission established under the Constitution
 - "(a) identify appropriate bodies for consultation in the appointment of the relevant members of the Commission, conduct the necessary consultations with them and, where necessary, receive nominations from appropriate bodies;
 - (b) make recommendations to the National Assembly
 - (i) for a consensual mechanism for the Ethnic Relations Commission, the Women and Gender Equality Commission, the Indigenous People's Commission and the Rights of the Child Commission;
 - (ii) for the appointment of members of the Commissions with the exception of the Public Procurement Commission; and
 - (iii) in connection with any other matter referred to it by the National Assembly from time to time.
 - (c) report to the National Assembly in relation to each Commission as soon as possible upon the discharge of its function in relation thereto."

Mandate

5. The Committee was mandated by Article 210 (1) (c) of the Constitution in relation to the Police Service Commission to nominate for appointment by the President:

"four members appointed by the President upon nomination by the National Assembly after it has consulted such bodies as appear to it to represent the majority of the members of the Police Force and any other such body it deems fit:"

Meetings of the Committee

6. The Committee held a total of fourteen (14) meetings, as follows:

List of Meetings	Dates of Meeting
1st Meeting of the Committee	21st December, 2006
2 nd Meeting of the Committee	10 ^{ւհ} January, 2007
3 rd Meeting of the Committee	27 th February, 2007
4th Meeting of the Committee	20th March, 2007
5th Meeting of the Committee	27th March, 2007
6th Meeting of the Committee	17 th April, 2007
7th Meeting of the Committee	24th April, 2007
8th Meeting of the Committee	8th May, 2007
9th Meeting of the Committee	22 nd May, 2007
10th Meeting of the Committee	5 th June, 2007
11th Meeting of the Committee	3 rd July, 2007
12th Meeting of the Committee	12 th July, 2007
13th Meeting of the Committee	31st July 2007
14th Meeting of the Committee	7th August, 2007

POLICE SERVICE COMMISSION

7.1 The Nomination Process

- 7.1.1 The Committee received Resolution No. 35 which was passed by the National Assembly on 27th July, 2007.
- 7.1.2 The Resolution determined that the National Commission of Law and Order and the National Executive of the Community Policing Groups be among the bodies that appear as bodies the Committee deems fit to submit nominees to the Police Service Commission.
- 7.1.3 At the meeting held on 31st July, 2007, the Committee proceeded to implement the decision of the National Assembly in accordance with article 210 (1) (c) of the Constitution and considered the nominations it had received from the Police Association, the Association of Former Members of the Guyana Police Force, the National Commission on Law and Order and the National Executive of Community Policing Groups.
- 7.1.4 The Police Association and Association of Former Members of the Guyana Police Force had by letters dated March 12, 2007 and March 13, 2007, respectively had submitted the following nominees:
- (i) Mr. Henry Chester, D.S.M., Retired Deputy Commissioner of Police
- (ii) Mr. Ivan Crandon, D.S.M., Retired Deputy Commissioner of Police,
- (iii) Mr. Harold Martin, Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police, and
- (iv) Mr. Franchot Duncan Clarke, Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police.

- 7.1.5 The National Commission on Law and Order by letter dated May 22, 2007 submitted the following nominees:
- (i) Mr. Dennis Morgan, A.A., Former Chairman of the Police Service Commission
- (ii) Mr. Roshan Khan, Chief Executive Officer/Founder of RK's Security Service
- 7.1.6 The National Community Policing Executive by letter dated July 3, 2007 had submitted the following nominees:
- (i) Mr. Roopchand Jaigobind aka Kishore Gobin Chairman of the National Executive of the Community Policing Groups
- (ii) **Ms Pamela Mendonca -** Division A, Chairperson, Community Policing Groups.
- 7.1.7 The following proposals were made relating to the persons to be signified to the President for appointment to the Police Service Commission:

Proposal 1 made by the PPP/C representatives: Mr. Ivan Crandon, D.S.M., Mr. Harold Martin, Mr. Franchot Duncan Clarke, and Mr. Dennis Morgan, A.A.

Proposal 2 made by the PNCR-IG representatives: Mr. Henry Chester, D.S.M., Mr. Ivan Crandon, D.S.M., Mr. Harold Martin, and Mr. Franchot Duncan Clarke.

Proposal 3 of the AFC representative: Mr. Henry Chester, D.S.M., Mr. Harold Martin, Mr. Franchot Duncan Clarke and Mr. Dennis Morgan, A.A.

7.2 The Committee's Selection Process

7.2.1 The Committee in the examination of the names before it unanimously agreed to Mr. Harold Martin, and Mr. Franchot Duncan Clarke, being two of its nominees and by a majority vote, agreed to Mr. Ivan Crandon, D.S.M., and Mr. Dennis Morgan, A.A., as its third and fourth nominee, respectively, to the Police Service Commission.

7.2.2 The Committee now reports to the National Assembly that it has meaningfully consulted with the Police Association, the Association of Former Members of the Guyana Police Force, the National Commission on Law and Order and the National Executive of Community Policing Groups, bodies as appear to it to represent the majority of the members of the Police Force and any other such body it deems fit and recommends that Mr. Ivan Crandon, D.S.M., Mr. Harold Martin, Mr. Franchot Duncan Clarke, and Mr. Dennis Morgan, A.A., be signified as the Assembly's choice to the President for appointment as Members of the Police Service Commission.

Gail Teixeira, M.P. Chairperson

Committee on Appointments

7th August, 2007