THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA (2006- 2010)

NINTH REPORT

OF THE

COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS

IN RELATION TO THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

COMMITTEES DIVISION PARLIAMENT OFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS GEORGETOWN 10th June, 2010

NINTH REPORT

Introduction

1. The Standing Committee on Appointments, established under the Constitution to address matters relating to the appointment of members of Commissions, pursuant to article 119C of the Constitution and under the provisions of Standing Order No. 84, has agreed to the following as its Ninth Report:

Members of the Committee

2. At a meeting of the Committee of Selection held on 14th December, 2006, the following Members were nominated to the Committee on Appointments to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of Commissions:

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic:

- (i) The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.,
- (ii) The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P.,
- (iii) The Hon. Brindley H.R.Benn, M.P.,
- (iv) The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P.,
- (v) The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P.,
- (vi) Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform - 1 Guyana:

- (i) Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P.,
- (ii) Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.,
- (iii) Ms. Amna Ally, M.P

Member from the Alliance For Change:

Mrs. Sheila Holder, M.P.

Election of Chairman

3. The Committee at its first meeting held on 21st December, 2006 unanimously elected Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P. as its Chairperson.

7 8

Terms of Reference

- 4. The Committee, by Resolution No. 17 passed by the National Assembly on 8th May, 2003, was entrusted to discharge the following functions in relation to the appointment of the Judicial Service Commission established under the Constitution -
 - "(a) Identify appropriate bodies for consultation in the appointment of the relevant members of the Commission, conduct the necessary consultations with them and, where necessary, receive nominations from appropriate bodies;
 - (b) Make recommendations to the National Assembly
 - (i) for a consensual mechanism for the Ethnic Relations Commission, the Women and Gender Equality Commission, the Indigenous Peoples'
 Commission and the Rights of the Child Commission;
 - (ii) for the appointment of members of the Commissions with the exception of the Public Procurement Commission; and
 - (iii) in connection with any other matter referred to it by the National assembly from time to time.
 - (c) Report to the National Assembly in relation to each Commission as soon as possible upon the discharge of its function in relation thereto."

Mandate

5. The Committee was mandated by article 200(1)(b) of the Constitution in relation to the Public Service Commission to nominate for appointment by the President:

"two members appointed by the President upon nomination by the National Assembly after it has consulted such bodies as appear to it to represent public officers or classes of public officers."

Meetings of the Committee

6. The Committee held a total of forty-five (45) meetings over the period 21st December, 2006 to 18th May, 2010.

Public Service Commission

- 7. The Committee in acknowledging its task in relation to the appointment of Members of the Commission as outlined in Resolution 17 passed on 8th May, 2003, agreed to utilize the consensual mechanism approved by the National Assembly to deal with appointment of the Members to the Rights Commission and Members of the Service Commissions.
- 8. At its 41st meeting held on 9th March, 2010, the Committee acknowledged that the Public Service Commission was approaching the end of its tenure and agreed to consider the process for the re-establishment of the Public Service Commission.
- 9. The Committee decided that it would consult the same entities that it had involved in the 2007 nomination process. As a result, it was agreed that the following Trade Unions that represent Public Officers and classes of Public Officers in Guyana, would be invited to submit nominations for the appointment in accordance with article 200(1)(b) of the Constitution:
 - (i) Guyana Public Service Union;
 - (ii) Guyana Labour Union;
 - (iii) Public Service Senior Staff Association;
 - (iv) Federation of Unions of Government Employees; and

- (v) National Union of Public Service Employees.
- 10. On 22nd March, 2010, the Committee dispatched letters to the Trade Unions inviting them to submit their nominations by 13th April, 2010. Copies of the relevant sections of the Constitution were included to guide them in making their nominations. The Unions were encouraged to consult with each other to arrive at such nominations. Due to delays in responding, the Committee extended a further deadline of 27th April, 2010, for submission.

Nomination by the Guyana Labour Union

11. On 24th March, 2010, the Guyana Labour Union submitted the name of **Mr**. Carvil **Duncan**, as its nominee.

Nomination by the Federation of Unions of Government Employees

12. On 31st March, 2010, the Federation of Unions of Government Employees submitted the name of **Mr. Carvil Duncan**, as its nominee.

Nomination by the Guyana Public Service Union

13. On 12th April, 2010, the Guyana Public Service Union submitted the names of Mr. Charles Baker and Mrs. Vera Naughton as its nominees.

Nomination by the National Union of Public Service Employees

14. On 12th April, 2010, the National Union of Public Service Employees, submitted the name of **Mr. Vincent Bowman**, as its nominee.

Nomination by the Public Service Senior Staff Association

15. The Public Service Senior Staff Association on 15th April, 2010, submitted the name of Mr. Cecil Seepersaud, as its nominee.

The Committee's Selection Process

16. At its 44th meeting held on 20th April, 2010, the Committee examined the submissions before it and the following proposals were put forward:

Proposal 1 made by the PNC/R - Mrs. Vera Naughton and Mr. Vincent Bowman.

Proposal 2 made by the PPP/Civic - Mr. Cecil Seepersaud and Mr. Carvil Duncan.

- 17. Consideration of these proposals was deferred to a subsequent meeting.
- 18. At its 45th meeting held on 18th May, 2010, the Committee resumed its consideration of the proposals and received the following proposals:

Proposal 2 of the PPP/Civic was re-iterated: Mr. Cecil Seepersaud and Mr. Carvil Duncan.

19. In the absence of two Members of the PNC/R, the Member present refrained from making a proposal. The Member of the AFC was not present. The first two proposals, therefore, were put, and by a majority vote the Committee nominated **Mr. Cecil Seepersaud** and **Mr. Carvil Duncan**.

- 20. The Committee, now therefore, reports to the National Assembly that it has meaningfully consulted the Guyana Public Service Union, the Public Service Senior Staff Association, the Federation of Unions of Government Employees, the National Union of Public Service Employees and the Guyana Labour Union, bodies that appear to it to represent Public Officers or classes of Public Officers.
- 21. The Committee further recommends that **Mr. Carvil Duncan and Mr. Cecil Seepersaud** be signified as the National Assembly's choice to the President for appointment as Members of the Public Service Commission.

Gail Teixeira, M.P

Chairperson

Committee on Appointments

4th June, 2010