THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

(2015-2016)

FIRST REPORT

OF THE

COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS

IN RELATION TO THE APPOINTMENT OF A MEMBER OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION

COMMITTEES DIVISION PARLIAMENT OFFICE PUBLIC BUILDINGS BRICKDAM GEORGETOWN

27TH APRIL, 2016

Introduction

1. The Standing Committee on Appointments was established under the Constitution to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of the Commission, pursuant to article 78A of the Constitution and the Local Government Commission Act No. 18 of 2013, has agreed to the following as its Report:

Members of the Committee

2. At a meeting of the Committee of the Selection held on September 4, 2015, the following Members were nominated to the Committee on Appointments to address matters relating to the appointment of Members of the Commission:

Members from the A Partner for National Unity (APNU):

- (i) Hon. Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.
- (ii) Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., Chief Whip
- (iii) Hon. David A. Patterson, M.P.
- (iv) Hon. Catherine A. Hughes, M.P.
- (v) Hon. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

Members from the People's Progressive Party

- (i) Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip
- (ii) Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P.
- (iii) Dr. Clive R. Jagan, M.P.
- (iv) Mr. Ganga Persaud, M.P.

Election of Chairperson

3. The Committee of Selection at its first meeting held on September 4, 2015 elected Hon. Dr. George A. Norton, M.P. as its Chairperson.

Vacant Seat

4. Dr. Clive R. Jagan, resigned as a Member of the National Assembly with effect from 10th February, 2016. The Committee of Selection has not met since; hence, there has been no replacement to date.

Mandate

5. The Committee was mandated by the Local Government Commission Act No. 18 of 2013, Clause 4(1) (c) in relation to the Local Government Commission, to nominate:

' one member, appointed by the President, after approval by the National Assembly upon a nomination by the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Appointments from persons submitted by Trade Unions within the Local Government System'.

Meetings of the Committee

6. The Committee held a total of five (5) Meetings.

Local Government Commission- nomination process

- 7. At the 2nd Meeting held on Wednesday, 23rd December, 2015, the Committee commenced discussion on the entities to be consulted to submit nominees to be appointed to the Local Government Commission. At that meeting, the Committee agreed and requested that the Umbrella bodies of the Trade Unions should be written to requesting a list of all Unions within the Local Government System.
- 8. At the 4th Meeting held on Wednesday, 9th March, 2016, the Committee was provided with a list of Trade Unions within the Local Government System, which comprises the following Unions:
 - (i) Guyana Local Government Officers' Union;
 - (ii) Guyana Labour Union; and
 - (iii) Guyana Public Service Union.
- 9. The Committee then peruse the list of Trade Unions and agreed that the Unions be written to, requesting submission of the name of their nominees. A deadline for submission of nominee was given as three (3) weeks from the date of dispatch of letter. The letters outlined the following:
 - That Unions were not precluded from submitting the names of several nominees;
 - Extract from the Local Government Act of 2013, which states that the final selection of the nominees resides with the Committee, and

- A bio-data form is submitted by the nominee.
- 10. At the 5th Meeting held on 9th March, 2016, the Committee commenced the nomination process of appointing one (1) Member to the Local Government Commission from the three (3) Trade Unions within the Local Government System.

11. Proposal I

Mr. Andrew Christopher Garnett from the Guyana Local Government Officers Union was nominated on a Motion moved and seconded by the Hon. David Patterson, M.P. and the Hon. Catherine A. Hughes, M.P., respectively.

12. Proposal II

Ms. Irma Glen from the Guyana Labour Union was nominated on a Motion moved and seconded by Ms. Teixeira, M.P. and Bishop Edghill, M.P., respectively.

13. A division taken reflected the following results:

For Mr. Andrew Christopher Garnett from the Guyana Local Government Officers Union	For Ms. Irma Glen from the Guyana Labour Union	Abstained
Hon. David Patterson, M.P.	Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P.	
Hon. Catherine A. Hughes, M.P.	Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S.,J.P., M.P.	-
Hon. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.		-
3	2	-

- 14. Mr. Andrew Christopher Garnett was declared as the nominee to be appointed to the Local Government Commission since he gained more votes.
- 15. At the 7th meeting of the Committee held on 27th April, 2016, the Committee examined and unanimously adopted the Report and Motion.
- 16. The Report is accordingly hereby submitted.

Hon. Dr. George Norton, M.P. Chairperson, Committee on Appointments