INNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA FIRST SESSION (2006-2009) NATIONAL ASSEMBLY 206

1...2

RESOLUTION NO. 84

RESOLVED,

That we, the Members of the National Assembly of the Ninth Parliament of Guyana, at this Sitting of the Assembly held on Thursday, 9th April, 2009-

- express our deep sadness at the immense loss to Guyana by the passing on Saturday, 28th March, 2009, of the former President of Guyana, Her Excellency Janet Jagan, O.E.;
- give honourable recognition to the enduring, selfless, committed and distinguished service which the late Her Excellency Janet Jagan, O.E., gave to Guyana and to the National Assembly of the Parliament of Guyana during her extensive, varied and dedicated career in public life as a pioneer in politics and the struggle for independence and women's rights, being among one of the first women Members of the Legislature in Guyana, the first female to be made Deputy Speaker in the world in 1953, one of the longest serving Members of the National Assembly, the first female Minister in Guyana, the first female Prime Minister on 17th March, 1997 and the first female President of Guyana on 19th December, 1997;

NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

2.

 record our heartfelt sympathy and direct that such be conveyed to her children, grandchildren and relatives.

Passed by the National Assembly on 9th April, 2009.

INKINGKINGKINGKINGKINGKINGKING

S.E. ISAACS Clerk of the National Assembly

207

N N N N

S. E. ISAACS CLERK OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

KANANANANANANANANANANANA