NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA FIRST SESSION (2006-2009) NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

RESOLUTION NO. 86

WHEREAS the Standing Committee on Appointments to Commissions in keeping with Resolution No 61 of 13th June, 2008 consulted the approved lists of entities for nominations to the Women and Gender Equality Commission;

AND WHEREAS the entities met and made submissions of their nominations between September 15, 2008 and March 24, 2009;

RESOLVED,

That this National Assembly approves the following persons from the following categories as members of the Women and Gender Equality Commission established under the Constitution and signify to the President that:

Women

Ms. Vanda Radzik

Ms. Shalimar Ali-Hack

Ms. Magda Pollard

Professional

Ms. Debra Ann Henry

Ms. Bebbi Haliema Khan

2.

Regional Women Affairs Committee

Ms. Nandranie Coonjah

Ms. Ernestine Barker Logan

TUC-Women Advisory Council

Ms. Karen VanSluytman-Corbin

Private Sector

Ms. Renata Chuck-A-Sang

Labour Movement

Ms. Gaietra Baron

Ms. Gillian Burton

Cultural/Ethnic

Ms. Nicole Cole

Mr. Peter Persaud

Women's Progressive Organisation

Ms. Indranie Chandarpal

National Congress of Women

Ms. Cheryl Sampson

have been nominated in accordance with Resolution No. 61 of 13th June, 2008, and article 212Q(2)(a) of the Constitution to be appointed members of the Women and Gender Equality Commission.

FURTHER RESOLVED,

That this National Assembly adopts the Seventh Report of the Standing Committee to address matters relating to the nomination and appointment of Members of the Women and Gender Equality Commission.

Passed by the National Assembly on Thursday, 21st May, 2009.

S.E. ISAACS
Clerk of the National Assembly

S. E. ISAACS CLERK OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY