NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA FIRST SESSION (2006-2010) NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

RESOLUTION NO. 130

WHEREAS, Article 212S of the Constitution provides for the establishment of an Indigenous Peoples' Commission;

AND WHEREAS, in accordance with Article 212S (2)(a)(b)(c) of the Constitution, the Indigenous Peoples' Commission shall consist of –

- (a) "Not more than ten Members, nominated by entities, by a consensual mechanism determined by the National Assembly, after the entities are determined by the votes of not less than two-thirds of all elected Members of the National Assembly;
- (b) Three persons, at least one being a woman nominated by the Toushaos Council and two persons including one woman nominated by Amerindian organizations determined by the votes of not less than two-thirds of all elected Members of the National Assembly; and
- (c) A Member who shall be a nominee, without the right to vote, chosen by and from each of the following Commissions: the Human Rights Commission, Ethnic Relations Commission, Women and Gender Equality Commission and the Rights of the Child Commission."

AND WHEREAS, the Committee on Appointments, in keeping with Resolution No. 118 of March 18, 2010, consulted with the approved list of entities for nominations to the Indigenous Peoples' Commission;

1...2

AND WHEREAS, all the approved entities were invited to submit and responded with their nominees between May and June, 2010;

AND WHEREAS, the National Assembly approved the Members of the Indigenous Peoples' Commission in accordance with Article 212S(2)(b), and Resolution No. 118 of March 18, 2010,

RESOLVED,

That this National Assembly now approves the following twelve persons as Members of the Indigenous Peoples' Commission established under the Constitution and signify to the President that:

Toushao Yvonne Pearson Toushao Marco J. De Souza Toushao Doreen Jacobis Mr. David James Ms Matilda Saigo Ms Patricia Singh Mr. George Simon Captain Gerald Gouveia Mr. Damian Fernandes Mr. James Singh Reverend Father Malcolm Rodrigues Mr. Norman Whittaker, M.P. een nominated in accordance with F

have been nominated in accordance with Resolution No. 118 of March 18, 2010 and Article 212S(2)(a)(b) of the Constitution to be appointed Members of the Indigenous Peoples' Commission; and 336

FURTHER RESOLVED,

That this National Assembly adopts the Eighth Report of the Standing Committee on Appointments to address matters relating to the nomination and appointment of Members of the Indigenous Peoples' Commission.

Passed by the National Assembly on Thursday, 29th July, 2010.

3.

S.E. ISAACS Clerk of the National Assembly CLERK OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY