SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION (1998-1999)

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

RESOLUTION NO. 34

WHEREAS Protocol III amending the Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community signed at Chaguaramas on 4 July 1973 was signed by ten Heads of Government at the Nineteenth Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community which was held in Castries, St. Lucia during the period 30 June - 4 July, 1998;

AND WHEREAS the said Protocol III was signed by Her Excellency Janet Jagan, the President of Guyana on behalf of the Government of Guyana;

AND WHEREAS the said Protocol provides for an Industrial Policy within the Community within the context of the Single Market and Economy;

AND WHEREAS Protocol III amending the Treaty establishing the Caribbean Community has as its primary goal the achievement of an export-led, internationally competitive sustainable production of goods services in Member States, and which will maximize employment and consumer welfare;

AND WHEREAS Guyana remains committed to the established goals and objectives of the Caribbean Community in this new era of globalisation;

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the National Assembly hereby agrees to the Secretary General of the Caribbean Community being informed of Guyana's intention to ratify the said Protocol III and for Guyana to formally ratify the said Protocol III by the deposit of an appropriate Instrument of Ratification.

Passed by the National Assembly on 6th December, 1999

F.A. NARAIN

Clerk of the National Assembly