SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION (1998-2000)

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

RESOLUTION NO. 42

WHEREAS Protocol IV Amending the Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community signed at Chaguaramas on 4 July, 1973 was signed by nine (9) Heads of Government at the Twentieth Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community which was held in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago during the period July 4-7, 1999;

AND WHEREAS the said Protocol IV was signed by the Honourable Clement J. Rohee, Minister of Foreign Affairs on behalf of the Government of Guyana;

AND WHEREAS the said Protocol provides for a Trade Policy for the Caribbean Community within the context of the Single Market and Economy;

AND WHERE AS Protocol IV Amending the Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community has as its principal objective the establishment of a Trade Policy which would promote sustained growth of intra-community and international trade among Member States and between the community and the third States;

AND WHEREAS Guyana like its CARICOM counterpart remains committed to the full integration of the National Markets of all Member States of the Community into a single unified and open market area;

BE IT RESOLVED:

That the National Assembly hereby agrees to the Secretary-General of the Caribbean Community being informed of Guyana's intention to ratify the said Protocol IV by the deposit of an appropriate Instrument of Ratification.

Passed by the National Assembly on 20th July, 2000

F.A. NARAIN Clerk of the National Assembly