COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

MINUTES of the First Meeting of the Committee of Selection of the National Assembly of the First Session of the Third Parliament of Guyana, held at 4.15 p.m. on Wednesday, the 10th of April, 1974, in the Speaker's Chamber, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P. - Chairman
The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary
Affairs and Leader of the House
Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of Housing
Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary,
Office of the Prime Minister, and
Government Chief Whip (Absent - on leave)
Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman, Deputy Speaker
Miss S. Jaiserrisingh
Mrs. L.E. Willems
Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly - Secretary Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.15 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate not less than six or more than ten Members of the National Assembly to the following other Sessional Select Committees of the Assembly:-

- (i) Public Accounts Committee
- (ii) Standing Orders Committee
- (iii) Assembly Committee
- (iv) Committee of Privileges
 - (v) Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS

The Committee of Selection nominated the following Members to the Sessional Select Committees:-

Public Accounts Committee

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition - Chairman Mr. K.B. Bancroft, Parliamentary Secretary (Hinterland), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture Mr. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman, Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. J.G. Ramson

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Standing Orders Committee

The Hon. B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House

The Hon. O.E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing

Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip

Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition

Assembly Committee

The Hon. H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

The Hon. B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House

The Hon. A. Salim, Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice)

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P. Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip Mrs. E. DaSilva

Committee of Privileges

The Hon. H.D. Hoyte S.C., Minister of Works and Communications The Hon. Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture

Mr. J.P Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education

Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman, Deputy Speaker Mr. J.N. Aaron

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition

Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply

The Hon. B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing

Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip

Miss S. Jaiserrisingh

Mr. K.M.E. Jonas

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business, the Meeting terminated at 4.20 p.m.

Chairman, Committee of Selection.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, GEORGETOWN.

13th April, 1974.