SCHEDULE OF EXPENDITURE IN 1969 AGAINST SERVICES NOT PROVIDED IN 1968 PENDING FNACTMENT OF THE APPROPRIATION ACT, 1969.

Item No.	Head of Charge	Subhead	Amount	Note
1.	12. Ministry of External Affairs	1 - Personal Fmoluments	10,320	To provide for an additional post of "Head of Post" with effect from 1st January, 1969.
2.	13. Ministry of Fconomic Development	22 - Consumer Expenditure Survey	75,000	To enable an immediate start on the survey on consumer expenditure.
		Total	85,320	

MINUTES of the First Meeting of the Committee of Selection held at 3.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 5th of February, 1969, in the Committee Room of the National Assembly, Public Buildings, George town.

ATTENDANCE

Those present were -

His Honour the Speaker,

Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P., M.P. - Chairman
The Hon. N.J. Bissember, M.P.,

minister of Trade and Parliamentary
Affairs
The Hon. W.G. Carrington, M.P.,

Minister of Labour and Social Security
Mr. J.N. Aaron, M.P.

Mr. S.M. Saffee, M.P.

with

Mr. F.a. Narain, Clerk of the National
assembly - Secretary
and

Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

Absent

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. D.C. Jagan

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 3.17 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate Members of the National Assembly to the following other Sessional Select Committees of the Assembly:-

- (i) Public Accounts Committee (to consist of not less than six or more than ten Members)(S.O. No. 71(2));
- (ii) Standing Orders Committee (to consist of the Speaker as Chairman and six other Members)(S.O. No. 71(3));
- (iii) Assembly Committee (to consist of the Speaker as Chairman and six other Members)(S.O. No. 71(4));
- (iv) Committee of Privileges (to consist of the Speaker as Chairman and six other Members)(S.O. No. 71(5));
- (v) Business Sub-Committee (to consist of the Speaker as Chairman and six other Members)(S.O. No. 65(1)).

Before proceeding with its duty, the Committee noted the absence of Dr. Ramsahoye and Mr. Jagan, representatives of the People's Progressive Party, and instructed the Secretary to enquire from them their intention of attending the meeting. After enquiry, the Secretary reported that, unfortunately, it was not

12/4

HYS

possible to contact the Members personally at that time, but enquiries from their Offices disclosed that both Dr. Ramsahoye and Mr. Jagan were in Court.

On account of the absence of representatives of the People's Progressive Party from that Meeting, the Committee decided that -

- (i) nominations of Members of the Assembly to the Sessional Select Committees should be deferred to another Meeting of the Committee to be held on Wednesday, the 12th of February, 1969;
- (ii) the representatives to be nominated to the Sessional Select Committees should be in the following proportion:-
 - (a) those Committees with six other Members, i.e. those listed at (ii) to (v) above, should have -
 - 4 Members from the People's National Congress, and
 - 2 Members from the People's Progressive Party;
 - (b) the Public Accounts Committee, referred to at (i) above, should consist of 7 Members of the Assembly, as follows:-
 - 4 Members from the People's National Congress,
 - 2 Members from the People's Progressive Party, and
 - 1 Member from the United Force; and
- (iii) the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee should be nominated from the 2 representatives of the People's Progressive Party on that Committee.

The Committee also decided that if Dr. Ramsahoye and Mr. Jagan were unable to attend the next meeting of the Committee, they should be requested to select and submit before the Meeting the following:-

- (i) the names of the 2 representatives of the People's Progressive Party whom they wished to nominate to each of the 5 Sessional Select Committees,
- (ii) the name of 1 of the People's Progressive Party Members nominated to the Public Accounts Committee whom they wished to nominate as Chairman of that Committee.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business the Meeting terminated at 3.50 p.m.

Confirmed this 20th day of February 1969

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

Speaker

CHAIRMAN

Committee of Selection

F.A. Narain

Clerk of the National Assembly Secretary, Committee of Selection.