MINUTES of the Second Meeting of the Committee of Selection held at 3.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 12th of February, 1969, in the Committee Room of the National Assembly, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

ATTENDANCE

Those present were -

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P., M.P. - Chairman The Hon. N.J. Bissember, M.P., Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs The Hon. W.G. Carrington, M.P., Minister of Labour and Social Security Mr. J.N. Aaron, M.P. Mr. S.M. Saffee, M.P. with Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly - Secretary.

Absent

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, M.P. Mr. D.C. Jagan, M.P.

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 3.18 p.m.

The Chairman read the letters dated 6th February, 1969, which the Secretary had sent to Dr. Ramsahoye and Mr. Jagan at the request of the Committee, and thereafter informed the Committee that the Secretary had reported that as he had not received replies either from Dr. Ramsahoye or Mr. Jagan, he had tried to contact them both before the Meeting to enable him to advise the Committee. He was unable to contact Dr. Ramsahoye but had got in touch with Mr. Jagan and had gathered from him that -

- (i) neither Dr. Ramsahoye nor himself would be able to attend that Meeting;
- (ii) a decision had not yet been taken on the nominations to be made to the Sessional Select Committees but that this was expected to be done shortly;
- (iii) Dr. Ramsahoye and himself who were members of the Standing Orders Committee and the Committee of Privileges in the last Session, were likely to be willing to serve on those Committees again during the present Session;
 - (iv) both Dr. Ramsahoye and himself would wish

425'

nominations to the Sessional Select Committees to be deferred to another Meeting which could be held on the following Wednesday. 427

The Committee expressed its disappointment at the delay in nominating members to the Sessional Select Committees and felt that the Committees should be appointed early.

After discussion, the Committee decided that, on account of the report of the Secretary, the Standing Orders Committee and the Committee of Privileges should be appointed at that Meeting and that subject to their willingness to serve, the representatives of the People's Progressive Party to be nominated to those two Committees, should be Dr. Ramsahoye and Mr. Jagan.

On proposals made by Mr. Bissember and seconded by Mr. Carrington, the following Members of the National Assembly were nominated to serve on the Standing Orders Committee and the Committee of Privileges, with His Honour the Speaker as Chairman in accordance with Standing Order No. 71(3)(a) and Standing Order No. 71(5).

Standing Orders Committee

The Hon. N.J. Bissember, M.P. Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs Mr. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister Mr. O.E. Clarke, M.P., Deputy Speaker Mr. S.M. Saffee, M.P. Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, M.P. Mr. D.C. Jagan, M.P.

Committee of Privileges

The Hon. H.D. Hoyte, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs The Hon. C.M.L. John, M.P., Minister of Local Government Mr. J.N. Asron, M.P. Mr. D.A. Singh, M.P. Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, M.P. Mr. D.C. Jagan, M.P.

The Committee also agreed that the next Meeting should be held at 3.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 1969, and that at that Meeting, nominations would be made to the remaining Sessional Select Committees.

1 ...

TERMINATION OF MEETING

C

There being no further business, the Meeting terminated at 3.40 p.m.

Confirmed this 20th day of February, 1969.

Julua

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ Speaker Chairman, Committee of Selection.

Haran F.A. NARAIN Clerk of the National Assembly Secretary, Committee of Selection.