COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

MINUTES of the Third Meeting of the Committee of Selection held at 3.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 1969, in the Committee Room of the National Assembly, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

ATTENDANCE

Those present were -

His Honour the Speaker,
Mr. R.B. Gajraj, C.B.E., J.P., M.P. - Chairman
The Hon. N.J. Bissember, M.P.,
Minister of Trade and Parliamentary
Affairs
The Hon. W.G. Carrington, M.P.,
Minister of Labour and Social Security
Mr. J.N. Aaron, M.P.
Mr. S.M. Saffee, M.P.
with

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National
Assembly - Secretary

Absent

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. D.C. Jagan

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 3.15 p.m.

The Chairman informed the Committee that the Secretary had reported that shortly before the time fixed for the Meeting, Mr. Jagan had telephoned him and had stated that -

- (i) he would like to attend the Meeting that afternoon, but as he was waiting on a very important telephone call which he was expecting, he might be late;
- (ii) Dr. Ramsahoye might not be able to attend the Meeting;
- (iii) the names of the Members of the Peoples' Progressive Party to be nominated to the three outstanding Sessional Select Committees were as follows:-
 - (a) Public Accounts Committee

Mr. Ram Karran, M.P. - to be Chairman Mr. R.D. Persaud, M.P.

(b) Assembly Committee

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson, M.P. Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., M.P.

(c) Business Sub-Committee

-2-

Mr. Ram Karran, M.P. Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P., M.P.

The Committee therefore decided to proceed with its nominations to those three Committees.

On proposals made by Mr. Bissember and seconded by Mr. Carrington, the following Members of the National Assembly were nominated to the Public Accounts Committee, the Assembly Committee, and the Business Sub-Committee:-

7 1

Public Accounts Committee

Mr. Ram Karran, M.P. - Chairman Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Mr. K. Bancroft, M.P.
Mr. E.F. Correia, M.P.
Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, M.P.
Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P., M.P.

and one other Member to be nominated from among the four Members of the United Force after they had all made and subscribed the oaths before the Assembly

Assembly Committee

His Honour the Speaker - Chairman (in terms of Standing Order No. 71(4))
Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., M.P.,
Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
Finance
Mr. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Parliamentary
Secretary, Office of the Prime
Minister
Miss M.M. Ackman, M.P.
Mrs. P.A. Limerick, M.P.
Mr. E.M.G. Wilson, M.P.
Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., M.P.

Business Sub-Committee

His Honour the Speaker - Chairman (in terms of Standing Order No. 65(1))
Hon. N.J. Bissember, M.P., Minister of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs
Mr. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister
Miss M.M. Ackman, M.P.
Mr. S.M. Saffee, M.P.
Mr. Ram Karran, M.P.
Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P., M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business, the Meeting terminated at 3.30 p.m.

Confirmed this 20th day of February, 1969.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ Speaker

Chairman, Committee of Selection.

F.A. NARAIN, Clerk of the National Assembly Secretary, Committee of Selection.