LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

MINUTES of the fourth meeting of the Committee of Selection held in the Speaker's Office of the Legislature at 1.30 p.m. on Tuesday, 3rd April, 1962.

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj - Chairman. Hon. B.H. Benn, Minister of Natural Resources. Mr. S.M. Saffee, Member for Berbice West. Mr. M. Bhagwan, Member for Essequibo Islands. Mr. J. Carter, Member for Werk-en-Rust. Mr. R.E. Cheeks, Member for Georgetown North.

Mr. I. Crum Ewing, Clerk of the Legislature - Secretary.

Absent:

Hon. B.S. Rai, Minister of Home Affairs.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on Friday, 9th March, 1962, were confirmed.

SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE IN TERMS OF RESOLUTION NO. XX OF 1962 - Appointment of Chairman.

The Chairman referred to the deadlock over the appointment of a Chairman in the Select Committee appointed in terms of Legislative Assembly Resolution No. XX, and enquired of the Members of that Committee present whether there was any possibility of the question being resolved.

After some discussion, it was agreed on a suggestion by Mr. Carter that he and Mr. Benn confer with the members of their respective parties on the Selection Committee, and see whether agreement could be reached on the appointment of a Chairman.

The Chairman pointed out that if the Committee could not resolve the deadlock, then the matter would have to be reported back to the Legislative Assembly.

There being no further business, the meeting terminated at 2.00 p.m.

Confirmed,

(sgd.) RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ
Chairman.