BRITISH GUIANA

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY - SECOND SESSION.

MINUTES of the First Meeting of the Committee of Selection held in the Chamber of the Legislature at 4.00 p.m. on Friday, 1st February, 1963.

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj - Chairman.

Hon. B.H. Benn, Minister of Agriculture, Forests and Lands.

Mr. M. Bhagwan Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. J. Carter, Q.C. Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Mr. I. Crum Ewing, Clerk of the Legislature - Secretary.

Absent:

Mr. S.M. Saffee, Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Works and Hydraulics.

The Chairman reminded Members of the provisions of Standing Order 73(1) which stated that as far as possible the balance of parties in the Assembly should be reflected in the Committees.

Thereafter the Committee made the following appointments:

Public Accounts Committee (Standing Order 71(2)):

Mr. G.L. Robertson Mr. V. Downer Mr. M. Hamid Mr. M. Shakoor

Mr. W.O.R. Kendall, Deputy Speaker

Mr. J.G. Joaquin Mr. P.S. d'Aguiar

Standing Orders Committee (Standing Order 71(3)):

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj

Dr. the Hon. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, Attorney-General

Mr. M. Bhagwan

Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. J. Carter, Q.C.

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Assembly Committee (Standing Order 71(4)):

His Honour the Speaker. Mr. R.B. Gajraj

Hon. Ram Karran, Minister of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. M. Hamid

Mr. H. Lall

Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. C.A. Merriman

Mr. S. Campbell

Committee of Privileges (Standing Order 71(5):

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj

Dr. the Hon. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, Attorney-General Mr. L.E.M. Mann, Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Finance

Mr. D.C. Jagan

Mr. J. Carter, Q.C. Mr. H.M.S. Wharton

Mr. E.E. Melville

1186.

Special Select Committee re National Flag, etc. (Resolution No. XVII of 11.1.63

Hon. B.H. Benn, Minister of Agriculture, Forests and Lands

Hon. Ram Karran, Minister of Works and Hydraulics Hon. E.M.G. Wilson, Minister of Communications Mr. L.E.M. Mann, Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Finance

Mr. W.O.R. Kendall, Deputy Speaker

Mr. J. Carter, Q.C.

Mr. W.A. Blair Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Special Select Committee re National Holidays (Resolution No. XIX of 23.1.63)

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj Hon. B.H. Benn, Minister of Agriculture, Forests and Lands

Hon. Ram Karran, Minister of Works and Hydraulics Mr. L.E.M. Mann, Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Finance

Mr. S.M. Saffee, Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Works and Hydraulics

Mr. W.O.R. Kendall, Deputy Speaker

Mr. R.S.S. Hugh Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Mr. B.S. Rai

There being no further business, the meeting terminated at 5.00 p.m.

Confirmed,

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

Chairman.