LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

MINUTES of the third meeting of the Committee of Selection held in the Speaker's Office of the Legislature at 3.00 p.m. on Friday, 9th March, 1962.

PRESENT:

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj Chairman. Hon. B.H. Benn, Minister of Natural Resources. Mr. S.M. Saffee, Member for Berbice west. Mr. M. Bhagwan, Member for Essequibo Islands. Mr. J. Carter, Member for Werk-en-Rust. Mr. R.E. Cheeks, Member for Georgetown North.

Mr. I. Crum Ewing - Clerk of the Legislature.

Absent:

Hon. B.S. Rai, Minister of Home Affairs.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on Wednesday, 31st January, 1962, were confirmed.

WELCOME TO NEW MEMBER

Mr. Moses Bhagwan, who was appointed to fill the vacancy on the Committee of Selection vice Mr. Henry, was welcomed by the Chairman.

SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE IN TERMS OF RESOLUTION NO. XX OF 1962.

After consideration, the following Members were appointed to comprise the Special Select Committee under Legislative Assembly Resolution No. XX re Preparing for Independence:-

Hon. B.H. Benn, Minister of Natural Resources. Hon. Ram Karran, Minister of Works and Hydraulics. Hon. B.S. Rai, Minister of Home Affairs.

Mr. L.E.M. Mann, Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Works and Hydraulics.

Mr. L.F.S. Burnham, Q.C. Mr. W.O.R. Kendall

Mr. J. Carter Mr. R.E. Cheeks

There being no further business the meeting terminated at 3.30 p.m.

Confirmed.

RAHMAN B. GAJRAJ

Chairman.

10th March, 1962.