# **COMMITTEE OF SELECTION**

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 8<sup>TH</sup> MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION ON THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2004) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 3.10 P.M

THURSDAY, 25<sup>TH</sup> MARCH, 2004 IN THE SPEAKER'S CEREMONIAL OFFICE, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

# **ATTENDANCE**

#### **MEMBERS**

#### Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

## Other Members

# Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.,
Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

# Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P.,
Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. (Excused)

# **Officers**

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs

Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms Debra H. Cadogan

Assistant Head of Committees Division

Ms Sherene Warren

Assistant Clerk of Committee

# **COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING**

The meeting commenced at 3.10 p.m.

#### PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate Members for the following Committees of the National Assembly:

- 1. Special Select Committee on the Audit Bill 2004 Bill No. 5 of 2004.
- 2. Parliamentary Management Committee.
- 3. Parliamentary Standing Committee for Constitutional Reform
- 4. Parliamentary Sectoral Committees
  - (i) Natural Resources
  - (ii) Economic Services
  - (iii) Foreign Relations
  - (iv) Social Services
- 5. Committee on the Appointment of Members of Constitutional Commissions
- 6. Sessional Select Committees
  - (i) Public Accounts Committee
  - (ii) Standing Orders Committee
  - (iii) Assembly Committee
  - (iv) Committee of Privileges

# SINESS OF MEETING

On proposals made and adopted, the Committee made the following nominations:-

Ę

# PARLIAMENTARY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

# PNC/R

Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P. to replace Miss Amna Ally, M.P.

# 2 PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON

# (a) NATURAL RESOURCES

#### PNC/R

Mr. George Norton, M.P. an Alternate Member on this Committee to replace Mr. E. Lance Carberry as a Substantive Member.

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P. to be the Alternate Member.

# (b) **ECONOMIC SERVICES**

#### PPP/C

Mr. Cyril Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. an Alternate Member on this Committee to replace Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P. M.P., Deputy Chairman, as a Substantive Member.

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. to be the Alternate Member.

# (c) <u>FOREIGN SERVICES</u>

#### PPP/C

Mr. Ramesh Rajkumar, M.P. an Alternate Member of this Committee to replace Mr. Khernraj Ramjattan, M.P. as a Substantive Member.

Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, M.D., M.P. to be the Alternate Member.

# 3. <u>COMMITTEE ON THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS</u> <u>CONSTITUTIONAL COMMISSIONS</u>

# PNC/R

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P., Ms Amna Ally, M.P., and Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. to replace Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Mr. Deryck Bernard, M.P, and Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P.

# 4. SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

# (a) PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

#### PPP/C

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., to replace Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

#### (b) STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE (S.O.) No. 70(3)

#### PNC/R

Mr Basil Williams, M.P. and Ms Judith David, M.P. to replace Mr Raphael Trotman M.P., and Mrs Myrna Peterkin, M.P.

# (c) ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE (S.O.) No. 70 (4) PNC/R

Ms Sandra Adams, M.P. and Mrs. Myrna Peterkin, M.P. to replace Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P. and Ms. Judith David, M.P.

# (d) <u>COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES (S.O.) No. 70 (5)</u> <u>PNC/R</u>

Ms Lurlene A. Nestor, M.P. and Ms Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P. to replace Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P. and Mrs. Volda Lawrence.M.P.

#### COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

# PNC/R

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P. and Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, M.D., M.P. to replace Mr. Vincent Alexander, M.P. and Ms Rajcoomarie Bancroft, M.P.

# 6. <u>SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE AUDIT BILL 2004 – BILL 5/2004 PPP/C</u>

The Hon. Saisnarine Kowlessar, M.P. The Hon. Leslie Ramsammy, M.P. The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P. Mrs Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. Mr. Cyril Belgrave, C.C.H., M.P.

#### PNC/R

The PNC/R did not propose any nominations to this Committee.

The Committee of Selection make no nominations to the following Committees:-

- 1. Parliamentary Standing Committee for Constitutional Reform.
- 2. Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Social Services

# **TERMINATION OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the meeting of the Committee of Selection was terminated at 4.38 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection