COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 9TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2004) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 3.45 P.M

THURSDAY, 22ND JULY, 2004

AT THE OCEAN VIEW CONVENTIONAL CENTRE LILIANDALL, EAST COAST DEMERARA

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P. Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.,

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly - (Absent - Excused)

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip - (Absent - Excused)

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P. - (Absent - Excused)

Dr. Carl Max Honoman, M.D., M.P. - (Absent - Excused)

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs - Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Maurice B. Henry - Head of Committees Division

Ms. Debra H. Cadogan - Assistant Head of Committees Division

Ms. Sonia Maxwell - Assistant Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 3.45 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate Members of the Special Select Committee on the Review and Implementation of the Reports of the Disciplined Forces Commission of the National Assembly.

177

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE REVIEW AND IMPLEMENTATION OF THE REPORTS OF THE DISCIPLINED FORCES COMMISSION

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, seconded by Mr. Feroze Mohamed, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P.
- (ii) The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon Clinton Collymore, M.P.
- (iv) Mr. S. Ferome Mohamed, M.P.
- (v) Mr Bernard C. De Santos, S.C., M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

On a proposal by the Hon Reepu Daman Persaud, seconded by Mr. Ramotar, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.
- (ii) Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P.
- (iii) Mr. Raphael Trotman, M.P.
- (iv) Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business the meeting of the Committee of Selection was terminated at 3.47 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection

FARLIAMENT OFFICE
Public Buildings
Brickdam
Georgetown.

26th July, 2004