-2/5

COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS
OF THE 10TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE
NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2004)
OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA
HELDAT 3.50 P.M
WEDNESDAY, 27TH OCTOBER, 2004
IN THE SPEAKER'S CEREMONIAL ROOM,
PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon, Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

(Absent - Excused)

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P. Minister of Education

(Absent)

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.,

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly -

(Absent - Excused)

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

(Absent)

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Dr. Carl Max Honoman, M.D., M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs

Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms. Debra H. Cadogan

Assistant Head of Committees Division

Ms. Sherene Warren

Assistant Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 3.50 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate Members of the Special Select Committee on the Combating of Trafficking in Persons Bill 2004 – Bill No. 12/2004.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE COMBATING OF TRAFFICKING IN PERSONS BILL 2004 – BILL NO. 12/2004.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, seconded by Mr. Donald Ramotar, the following Members were nominated:

- (ii) The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P.
- (iv) Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.
- (v) Mr. Ramesh Rajkumar, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

On a proposal by Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, seconded by Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P.
- (ii) Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.
- (iii) Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance

On a proposal by Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, seconded by Dr. Carl Max Hanoman, the following Member was nominated:

(i) Mrs. Shirley Melville, M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business the meeting of the Committee of Selection was terminated at 3.55 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P.

1

Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairman of the Committee of Selection

PARLIAMENT OFFICE

Public Buildings Brickdam Georgetown.

27th October, 2004.