COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 11TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002-2004) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 4.25P.M THURSDAY, 16TH DECEMBER, 2004

AT THE OCEAN VIEW CONVENTIONAL CENTRE LILIANDAAL, EAST COAST DEMERARA

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS

Chairman

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffery, M.P. Minister of Education

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P.,
Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Dr. Dalgliesh Joseph, M.D., M.P.

Dr. Carl Max Honoman, M.D., M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs - Clerk of the National Assembly
Mr. Maurice B. Henry - Head of Committees Division
Ms. Sherene Warren - Assistant Clerk of Committee

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 4.25p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate Members of the Special Select Committee on the Age of Consent Bill 2004 – Bill No. 22/2004.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE AGE OF CONSENT BILL 2004 – BILL NO. 22/2004.

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

On a proposal by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, seconded by Mr. Feroze Mohamed, the following Members were nominated:

(i) The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P.,

- (ii) The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D. A. Bisnauth, M.P.
- (iii) The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P.
- (iv) The Hon. Bibi Shadick, M.P.,
- (v) Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

From the Members of the Opposition (4)

On a proposal by the Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., seconded by Dr. Carl Max Honoman, M.D., M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- (i) Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P.,
- (ii) Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P.,
- (iii) Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.,
- (iv) Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business the meeting of the Committee of Selection was terminated at 4.27 p.m.

HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE Public Buildings Brickdam Georgetown.

16th December, 2004.