# NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2015) OF THE ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 1ST MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION HELD ON THURSDAY, 20<sup>TH</sup> AUGUST, 2015 AT 4.25 P.M. IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBER PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

# ATTENDANCE

# **MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)**

### <u>Chairman</u>

Hon. Dr. Barton U.A. Scotland, C.C.H., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

#### Other Members

# From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change APNU/AFC (5)

Hon. Khemrai Ramjattan, M.P., Vice President and Minister of Public Security

Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., Minister of Social Cohesion and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P., Minister of Social Protection

Hon. David Patterson, M.P., Minister of Public Infrastructure

Hon. Catherine Hughes, M.P., Minister of Tourism

### From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) (4)

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chief Whip.,

Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P.

Ms. Gillian R. Persaud, M.P.

Mr. Needkumar, J.P., M.P.

1

# **Officers**

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs Ms. Debra H. Cadogan Ms. Sereeta N. Bethune The Clerk of the National Assembly Head of Committees Division Assistant Clerk of Committees

# **COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING**

The meeting was called to order at 4.25 p.m.

### PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened for the purpose of nominating Members to the Business Sub Committee of the Committee of Supply.

### NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE BUSINESS SUB COMMITTEE OF THE COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

### From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change APNU/AFC

On a proposal by the Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., seconded by the Hon. David Patterson, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- The Hon. Carl Greenidge, M.P.,
- The Hon. Amna Ally, M.P.,
- The Hon. Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.,
- The Hon. Keith Scott, M.P.,
- The Hon. Valerie Garido- Lowe, M.P.

#### From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C)

On a Proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., seconded by Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.P., the following Members were nominated:

- Mr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P.,
- Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.P.,
- Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.
  - Mr. Collin D. Croal, M.P.,

2

# **Termination of Meeting**

The meeting was terminated at 4.27 p.m.

Confirmed this......day of August, 2015 Hon. Dr. Barton, U.A. Scotland, C.C.H., M.P.,

<sup>91</sup> Speaker of the National Assembly Chairperson of the Committee of Selection

Post of A Particip

12  $\mathbf{a} \mathbf{d}$ E. Bo

•

1

3