NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2015) OF THE ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 3RD MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 9TH SEPTEMBER, 2015 AT 1.40 P.M. IN COMMITTE ROOM NO.2, GROUND FLOOR, WEST OF THE MAIN STAIRWAY, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)

<u>Chairman</u>

Hon. Dr. Barton U.A. Scotland, C.C.H., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC) (5)

Hon. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., Vice President and Minister of Public Security

Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., Minister of Social Cohesion and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P., Minister of Social Protection

Hon. David Patterson, M.P., Minister of Public Infrastructure and

Hon. Catherine Hughes, M.P., Minister of Tourism

From the People's Progressive Party (PPP) (4)

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chief Whip.,

Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P.

Ms. Gillian R. Persaud, M.P. and

Mr. Needkumar, J.P., M.P.

- Excused

Officers

| Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs | - | Clerk of the National Assembly |
|------------------------|---|--------------------------------|
| Ms. Debra H. Cadogan | - | Head of Committees Division |
| Mr. Nickalai Pryce | - | Clerk of Committees |

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting was called to order at 1.40 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened for the for the purpose of effecting changes to the following Committees of the National Assembly:

- Parliamentary Oversight Committee on the Security Sector,
- Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Foreign Relations, and
- Statutory Instrument Committee.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE PARLIAMENTARY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE ON THE SECURITY SECTOR

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., seconded by the Hon. Catherine Hughes, M.P., the Hon. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., was nominated to replace the Hon. Winston G. Felix, D.S.M., M.P., and the Hon. Basil Williams, M.P., was nominated to replace the Hon. Keith Scott, M.P.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE PARLIAMENTARY SECTORAL COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN RELATIONS

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., seconded by the Hon. Catherine Hughes, M.P., the Hon. Nicolette O. Henry, M.P., was nominated to replace the Hon. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P.

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS COMMITTEE

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change APNU/AFC

On a proposal by the Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., seconded by the Hon. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P., the Hon. Annette N. Ferguson, M.P., was nominated to replace the Hon. Keith Scott, M.P.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

NOMINATION OF MEMBERS TO THE BUSINESS SUB -COMMITTEE OF THE COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY

On a proposal by the Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., seconded by the Hon. Catherine Hughes, Mr John Adams, M.P. was nominated to replace the Hon. Keith Scott, M.P.

Termination of Meeting

The meeting was terminated at 1.53 p.m.

Confirmed this 22nd day of October, 2015 ţ

Hon. Dr. Barton U.A. Scotland, C.C.H., M.P. Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection