COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE <u>1ST MEETING</u> OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (2002) OF THE EIGHTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 3.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 16TH DECEMBER, 2002,

IN THE PARLIAMENTARY LIBRARY, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS

<u>Chairman</u>

The Speaker of the National Assembly, The Hon. Hari N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Other Members

Members from the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport
- The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education
- Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip
- Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Members from the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

OFFICER

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The Meeting commenced at 3.15 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of the Meeting was to enable the Committee of Selection to nominate the Members to comprise the following Sessional Select Committees of the National Assembly:-

- (i) Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply (S.O. No. 64(1))
- (ii) Public Accounts Committee (S.O. No. 70(2))
- (iii) Standing Orders Committee (S.O. No. 70(3))
- (iv) Assembly Committee (S.O. No. 70(4))
- (v) Committee of Privileges (S.O. No. 70(5))

NOMINATIONS MADE

On proposals by the Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, and Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Opposition Chief Whip, the Committee of Selection nominated the following Members to comprise the Committees:-

(i) <u>BUSINESS SUB-COMMITTEE OF THE COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY</u>

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Education

٠

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (1)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

(ii) <u>PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE</u>

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. Donald R. Ramotar, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (4)

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. C. Stanley Ming, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

(iii) STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
- The Hon. Bibi S. Shadick, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- Mr. Kornal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.
- Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P.
- Mr. Ramesh C. Rajkumar, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P.

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (1)

. •

4

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

(iv) ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE

....

Ŧ

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

Mr. Cyril C.L. Belgrave, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P.

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Ms Carolyn Rodrigues, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Andy Goveia, M.P.

Miss Amna Ally, M.P.

Miss Judith David, M.P.

From the Guyana Action Party/Working People's Alliance (1)

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

(v) <u>COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES</u>

From the People's Progressive Party/Civic (5)

The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., Minister of the Public Service

The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, M.P.

From the People's National Congress/Reform (3)

Mr. Vincent L. Alexander, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Nasir Ally, J.P., M.P.

From the Rise, Organise and Rebuild Party (1)

Mr. Ravindra Dev, M.P.

TERMINATION OF MEETING

There being no further business, the Meeting of the Committee of Selection terminated at 3.25 p.m.

an

HARI N. RAMKARRAN Speaker of the National Assembly Chairman of the Committee of Selection

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

16th December, 2002