NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2015-2016) OF THE ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE 4TH MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF SELECTION HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 4TH MAY, 2016 AT 4.50 P.M. IN THE SPEAKER'S CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE (10)

Chairman

Hon. Dr. Barton U.A. Scotland, C.C.H., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC) (5)

Hon. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P., Vice President and Minister of Public Security

Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., Minister of Social Cohesion and Government Chief Whip

Hon. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P., Minister of Social Protection

Hon. David Patterson, M.P., Minister of Public Infrastructure, and

Hon. Catherine Hughes, M.P., Minister of Tourism

From the People's Progressive Party (PPP) (4)

Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chief Whip.,

Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P.

Ms. Gillian R. Persaud, M.P., and

- Excused

Mr.Needkumar, J.P., M.P.

Officers

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, A.A. - Clerk of the National Assembly

Ms. Debra H. Cadogan - Head of Committees Division

Mr. Nickalai Prvce - Clerk of Committees

COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting was called to order at 4.50 p.m.

PURPOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was convened for the purpose of effecting changes in the Membership of the following Committees of the National Assembly:

- Assembly Committee; and
- Committee on Appointments.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE

From A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance for Change (APNU/AFC)

On a proposal by the Hon. Amna Ally, M.P., seconded by the Hon. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P., Mr. Michael Carrington, M.P., was nominated to replace Ms. Jennifer J. Wade, M.P.

NOMINATION OF A MEMBER TO THE COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS

From the People's Progressive Party (PPP)

On a proposal by Ms. Gail Teixeira, M.P., seconded by Mr. Needkumar, J.P., M.P., Ms. Bhagmattie Veerasammy, M.P., was nominated to replace Dr. Clive R. Jagan, M.P., who had resigned from the Committee.

Termination of Meeting

The meeting was terminated at 4.55 p.m.

Confirmed this..!.l...day of May, 2016

Hon. Dr. Barton U.A. Scotland, C.C.H., M.P.

Speaker of the National Assembly

Chairman of the Committee of Selection