### THE

### PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

### OFFICIAL REPORTS

### /Volume 09/

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE SECOND SESSION (1982) OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA.

14<sup>th</sup> Sitting 14:00 hrs Thursday, 1982-11-11

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (75)

Speaker (1)

\*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government – People's National Congress (62)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P.,

(Absent)

Prime Minister

Other Vice Presidents (4)

Cde. S.S. Narain, A.A., M.P.,

Vice - President, Works, Transport and Housing

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P.,

(Absent – on leave)

Vice - President, Economic Planning and Finance

Cde. H. Green, M.P.,

Vice - President, Agriculture

Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P.,

Vice - President, Party and State Matters

Senior Ministers (7)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P.,

Minister of Education

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., (Absent)

Minister of National and Regional

Development

\*Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., (Absent)

Minister of Internal Trade and

Consumer Protection (Absent)
\*Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., (Absent)

Minister of Energy and Mines

\*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., (Absent)

Attorney General and Minister of Justice

\*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., (Absent)

Minister of Foreign Affairs

\*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P.,

Minister of Home Affairs

<sup>\*</sup>Non-elected Member

### Ministers (7)

Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P.,

Minister of Co-operatives

Cde. J.N. Maitland - Singh, M.P.,

Minister, in the Ministry of Agriculture

Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P.,

Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance

(Absent – on leave)

(Absent – on leave)

(Absent)

\*Cde. Y.V. Harewood – Benn, M.P.,

Minister, in the Office of the Prime

Minister

\*Cde. H. Rashid, M.P.,

Minister, in the Office of the President

\*Cde. R.A. Van West - Charles, M.P.,

Minister of Health

\*Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P.,

Minister of Labour, Manufacturing and Industrial Development

# Ministers of State (2)

Cde. M. Corrica, M.P.,

Minister of State in the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection

Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P.,

Minister of State for Youth and Sports, In the Ministry of Education

### Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

 $Cde.\ A.W.\ Bend-Kirton-Holder,\ M.P.,$ 

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of

Works, Transport and Housing

Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education

Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

<sup>\*</sup>Non-elected Member

## Other Members (26)

- Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
- Cde. M. Armogan,
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
- Cde. J.B. Calderia, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.

(Absent)

(Absent)

(Absent)

(Absent – on leave)

(Absent - on leave)

- Cde. O.E. Clark, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott Nacimento, J.P., M.P.
  - Government Chief Whip
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

## Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

### Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Regional No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Regional No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowrimootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cyunui/Mazaruni)
- Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni)
- Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takatu/Upper Essequibo)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

# Members of the Minority (12)

# (i) <u>Peoples' Progressive Party</u> (10)

### Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P.

Minority Leader

### Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P.

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

# Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. Narbada Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. I. Basir, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

# (ii) <u>United Force</u> (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

#### **OFFICERS**

Clerk of the National Assembly – F.A. Narain, A.A.

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - M.B. Henry

# **PRAYERS**

#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

14:05 hrs

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>The Speaker:</u> Leave has been granted to Cde. Hoyte, Corrica, Armogan and Walcott-Nacimento for today's sitting.

### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

The following papers were laid:

- (1) (a) Loan Agreement dated 1982-01-11, between the Government of Guyana and the Netherlands Investment Bank for the financing of a Know-How and Technical Cooperation Agreement.
  - (b) Financial paper No. 3/1982 Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates – advances made from the Contingencies Fund totaling \$22,652,322, for the period ended 1982-10-26. [Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance, on behalf of the Vice – President, Economic Planning and Finance.]

In terms of Standing Order 68(1) the Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance, named Thursday 1982-11-18 as the day for the consideration of the Financial Paper in Committee of Supply.

- (2) Annual Report of the Ministry of Home Affairs for 1981.
- (3) Annual Report of the Ministry of Manufacturing Industry for the year 1981. /Minister of Labour, Manufacturing and Industrial Development./

### INTRODUCTION OF BILLS - FIRST READING

The following Bills were introduced and read the First time:

- (1) Guyana Rice Board (Amendment) Bill 1982 Bill No. 11/1982, published 1982-09-11; [Vice President, Agriculture.]
- (2) Public Officers (Transfer of Functions) Bill 1982 Bill No. 12/1982, published 1982-09-11. [Vice President, Works, Transport and Housing.]
- (3) Customs (Amendment) Bill 1982 Bill No. 13/1982
- (4) Fiscal Enactments (Amendment) Bill 1982 Bill No. 14/1982. [Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance.]

# **ADJOURNMENT**

<u>Resolved</u>, "That this Assembly do now adjourn to Wednesday, 1982-11-17, at 14:00 hrs." [Vice – President, Party and State Matters.]

Adjourned accordingly at 14:10 hrs.