## THE

### PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

### OFFICIAL REPORTS

### <u>/Volume 91</u>

# PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE SECOND SESSION (1982) OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA

19th Sitting	14:00 hrs	Monday, 1984-01-17				
MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (76)						
Speaker (1)						
*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R	., J.P., M.P.,					
Speaker of the I	National Assembly					
Membe	Members of the Government – People's National Congress (61)					
Prime Minister	(1)					
Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P.,						
Prime Minister						
Other Vice-Presidents	(4)					
Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A.	, M.P.,					
Vice-President,	Works, Transport and Housin	ng				
Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C.,	M.P.,					
Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance						
Cde. H. Green, M.P.,						
Vice-President,	Agriculture	(Absent – on leave)				
Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.	Р.,					
Vice-President,	Party and State Matters	(Absent – on leave)				
Senior Ministers	(7)					
Cde. R. Chandisingh, M	I.P.,					
Minister of Edu	cation					
Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.	P.					
Minister of Nat	ional and Regional					
Development		(Absent)				
*Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P.,						
Minister of Inte	rnal Trade and					
Consumer Prote	ection	(Absent)				
*Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P.,						
Minister of Ene	rgy and Mines					
*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabud	deen, O.R., S.C., M.P.,					
Attorney Gener	al and Minister of Justice	(Absent)				

*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P.,				
Minister of Foreign Affairs	(Absent)			
*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P.,				
Minister of Home Affairs				
Ministers (6) Cde. U. E. Johnson, M.P.,				
Minister of Co-operatives	(Absent)			
Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P.,				
Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of				
Economic Planning and Finance				
*Cde. Y. V. Harewood-Benn, M.P.,				
Minister, in the Office of the Prime Minister				
*Cde. H. Rashid, M.P.,				
Minister, in the Office of the President				
*Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P.,				
Minister of Health	(Absent)			
*Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P.,				
Minister of Labour, Manufacturing				
and Industrial Development				
Ministers of State (2) Cde. M. Corrica, M.P.,				
Minister of State in the Ministry of				
Internal Trade and Consumer Protection				
Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P.,				
Minister of State for Youth Sports,				
in the Ministry of Education	(Absent)			
<u>Parliamentary Secretaries</u> (3)				
Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P.,				
Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of				
Works, Transport and Housing.				
Cde. D.AN. Ainsworth, M.P.,				
Parliamentary Secretary, Minister of				
Education				
Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.,				
Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of				
Foreign Affairs.				

\*Non-elected Member

Other Members (26)	,					
Cde. M. Ally, M.P.	(Absent – on leave)					
Cde. M. Armogan, J.P., M.P	•					
Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.	(Absent – on leave)					
Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.						
Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.						
Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.						
Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.						
Cde. E. B. Davidson, M.P.						
Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.						
Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.	Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.					
Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.						
Cde. P. Frederick, M.P.						
Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.						
Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.	(Absent – on leave)					
Cde. A. McRae, M.P.						
Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P						
Cde. S. Prashad, M.P.						
Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.						
Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.						
Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P	P. (Absent)					
Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.						
Cde. S.H Sukhu, M.S., M.P.						
Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.						
Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.						
Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimen	to, J.P., M.P.					
Government Chief V	Vhip					
Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.						
<u>Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs</u> (2)						
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.						
Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.	P. (Absent)					
<u>Members from the Regional Democratic Councils</u> (10)						
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)(Absent)Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent)Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)(Absent)Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)(Absent)Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)(Absent)						
Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)						
Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni) (Absent)						
Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)						
	n No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Berbice)	(Absent)				

Deputy Speaker of the National	Assembly	
Other Members (8)		
Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.	(Absent)	
Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P.		
Minority Chief Whip.		
Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.		
Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.		
Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.		(Absent)
Cde. I. Basir, M.P.		(Absent)
Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.		(Absent)
Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.		
	United Force (2)	
Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.		
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.		(Absent –
		(1 losent
	<u>OFFICERS</u>	

Clerk of the National Assembly - Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A.

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Cde. M.B. Henry

4

Deputy Speaker (1) Cde. Ram Karran, M.P. Depu

# Other Memb

(i)

<u>Minority Leader (1)</u>

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P.,

Minority Leader

# People's Progressive Party (10)

# <u>Members of the Minority (12)</u>

Absent – on leave)

(Absent)

#### 1983-01-17

<u>14:00 - 14:10 hrs</u>

National Assembly

14:00 hrs

# ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER 1983 Welcome

<u>The Speaker:</u> Comrades and Hon. Members, as this is the first Sitting for the year I would like to take the opportunity of welcoming all of you back here and do trust that the same cordial relations that existed in the previous year will continue during this ensuing period.

### **Resignation**

<u>The Speaker:</u> I received from Cde. Jean Maitland-Singh a letter dated 29th December, 1982 tendering her resignation as a Member of the National Assembly. With Cde. Maitland-Singh's resignation, a seat in the National Assembly has become vacant. I had, therefore, in accordance with section 99A of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 1:03, called upon the representative of the list of candidates from which Cde. Maitland's name was extracted following the last general elections, to further extract from the said list the name of a person to fill the vacancy.

### Leave of Members

<u>The Speaker:</u> Leave has been granted to Cdes. Green, Ramsaroop, Gill-Mingo and Mr. M.F. Singh for today's Sitting and also Cde. Beniprashad for two weeks from today.

### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS ETC.

- (A) Accounts of the Guyana Transport Services Limited for 1981. <u>/The Vice-President</u>, <u>Works, Transport and Housing.</u>]
- (b) Financial Paper No. 1/1983 Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates totaling \$20,675,571, for the period ended 1983-12-31. [The Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance.]

In terms of Standing Order No. 68(1), the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, named Thursday 1983-01-20 as the day for consideration of the Financial Paper in the Committee of Supply.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

<u>Resolved</u>, "That this Assembly do now adjourn until Thursday, 1983-01-20 at 14:00 hrs. [Vice-President, Works, Transport and Housing.]

Adjourned accordingly at 14:05 hrs.