THE

PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

OFFICIAL REPORT

[VOLUME 7]

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF GUYANA

200th Sitting 2 p.m. 17th December, 1979

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., Speaker

Members of the Government – People's National Congress (46)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister

(Absent – on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid,

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (12)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C.,

Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives

(Absent – on leave)

Cde. S.S Naraine, A.A.,

Minister of Works and Transport

Cde. B. Ramsaroop,

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

and Leader of the House

Cde. C.V. Mingo,

Minister of Home Affairs

* Cde. H. Green,

Minister of Health, Housing and Labour

(Absent)

* Cde. H.O. Jack,

Minister of Energy and Natural Resources

* Cde. F.E. Hope,

Minister of Finance

* Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H.,

Minister of Agriculture

(Absent – on leave)

* Cde. M. Shahabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C.,

Attorney General and Minister of Justice

(Absent)

* Cde. R.E. Jackson,

Minister of Foreign Affairs

(Absent – on leave)

* Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A.,

Minister of Trade and

Consumer Protection

Ministers (2)

Cde. O.E. Clarke,

Minister – Regional

(East Berbice/Corentyne)

(Absent – on leave)

Cde. C.A. Nascimento,

Minister, Office of the Prime Minister

Minister of State (10)

Cde. F.U.A Carmichael

Minister of State – Regional (Rupununi)

Cde. P. Duncan, J.P.,

Minister of State, Ministry of

Economic Development and Co-operatives

*Non-elected Ministers

Cde. K.B. Bancroft, J.P.,

Minister of State- Regional

(Mazaruni/Potaro)

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P.,

Minister of State – Regional

(Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)

Cde. J.R. Thomas,

Minister of State, Office of the

Prime Minister

(Absent)

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin,

Minister of State, Ministry of

National Development

(Absent)

Cde. S. Prashad,

Minister of State – Regional

(East Demerara/West Coast Berbice)

Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman,

Minister of State,

Minister of Agriculture

* Cde. F.U.A. Campbell,

Minister of State for Information,

Minister of National Development

(Absent)

* Cde. H. Rashid,

Minister of State,

Office of the Prime Minister

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

Cde. M.M. Ackman, C.C.H.,

Parliamentary Secretary; Office of the

Prime Minister and Government Chief Whip

(Absent – on leave)

Cde. E.L. Ambrose,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Cde. M. Corrica,

Parliamentary Secretary,

Ministry of Education, Social Development

and Culture

Non-elected Ministers

Cde. E.M. Bynoe,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection

Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P.,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development and Co-operatives

Cde. J.G. Ramson,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Transport

Other Members (15)

Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H.

Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley (Absent)

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler

Cde. J. Gill

Cde. W. Hussain

Cde. K.M.E. Jonas

Cde. P.A. Rayman

Cde. A. Salim

Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S.

Cde. C.A. Sukul, J.P.

Cde. H.A. Taylor (Absent)

Cde. H.B. Walcott M.P.

Cde. L.E. Willems

Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) People's Progressive Party (14)

Leader of the Opposition (1)

Cde. C. Jagan,

Leader of the Opposition (Absent – on leave)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran,

Deputy Speaker

Other Members (12)

Cde. J. Jagan (Absent – on leave)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde. Narbada Persaud

Cde. C. Collymore

Cde. S.F. Mohamed (Absent – on leave)
Cde. I. Basir (Absent – on leave)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave

Cde. R. Ally

Cde. Dalchand, J.P.

Cde. Dindayal

Cde. H. Nokta (Absent – on leave)

Cde. P. Sukhai

(ii) Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P. (Absent – on leave)

Mr. M.A. Abraham

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly – F.A. Narain, A.A.

Acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly – A. Knight

17.12.79 2 – 2.10 p.m.

2 p.m.

PRAYERS

Cde. Harun Rashid, Minister of State

The Speaker: Comrades and hon. Members, I have been informed that Cde. Harun Rashid has been appointed a Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister with effect from today. Although Cde. Rashid is not an elected Member of the Assembly; he has however, by virtue of his appointment as a Minister, become a Member of the Assembly.

Before Cde. Rashid can take part in the proceedings of the Assembly, he will have to make and subscribe the Oath of Office as required by article 76 of the Constitution.

As Cde. Rashid is present, he may proceed to the Table where the Oath will be administered to him by the Clerk.

[The Oath of Office was administered to and subscribed by Cde. Harun Rashid.]

The Speaker: On behalf of Members of the Assembly and myself, I wish to congratulate Cde. Rashid on his appointment as a Minister. I also welcome Cde. Rashid to the National Assembly and extend best wishes to him.

Announcements by the Speaker

Cde. Jeffrey Thomas

Re-assignment of Duties as Ministers of State

The Speaker: Comrades and hon. Members, I have been informed that Cde. Jeffrey Thomas, a Minister of State, who was assigned duties in the Ministry of Health, Housing and

2 - 2.10 p.m.

Labour, has been assigned duties as a Minister of State in the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture, with effect from today.

Leave to Members

The Speaker: Leave has been granted to Cde. Burnham, Cde. Hoyte, Cde. Kennard, Cde. Clarke, Cde. Bynoe, Cde. C. Jagan, Cde. J. Jagan, Cde. Mohamed, Cde. Basir, and Cde. Nokta, for today's Sitting, and to Cde. Willems for the period 18th December, 1979 to 17th January, 1980.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS

The following Papers were laid:

- (1) External Trade Bureau (Dissolution) Order 1970 (No. 94), made under section 63 of the Public Corporation Act, Chapter 19:05, on the 6th of December, 1979, and published in the Gazette on the 8th of December, 1979. [The Minister of Trade and the Consumer Protection, on behalf of the Prime Minister]
- (2) Financial Paper No. 3/1979 Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ended 12th December, 1979, totalling \$14, 138,218. **[The Minister of Finance]**

In terms of Standing Order No. 68, the Minister of Finance named Thursday, 20th December, 1979, as the day for the consideration of the Financial Paper in the Committee of Supply.

2.10 p.m.

PERSONAL EXPLANATIONS

Cde. Ally: Cde. Speaker, up to last year, 1978, I received my notice two or three days before the date of the Sitting of this House, and I was usually supplied with the necessary Order Paper and the other important papers at the same time, but since early this year, I had to come here to find the Order Paper and the other papers. As a result I cannot really make a proper contribution when I come here because I do not know what would be the business of the House, so to speak. For last Monday's Sitting, the 3rd December, I did not receive the Notice until the very day, the 3rd of December.

The Speaker: So, what is the personal explanation you wish to make?

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS – First Reading

The following Bill was introduced and read the First time:

Rate of Interest Bill 1979. **[The Minister of Finance]**

ADJOURNMENT

Resolved, "That this Assembly do now adjourn until Thursday, 20th December, 1979.

Adjourned accordingly at 2.12 p.m.
