THE

PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

OFFICIAL REPORT

[Volume 7]

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA.

203rd Sitting 2 p.m. Friday,1st February 1980

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (63)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P.

Speaker of the National Assembly

<u>Members of the Government – People's National Congress</u> (46)

<u>Prime Minister</u> (1)

*Cde. L.F.S.Burnham, O.E.,S.C., (Absent)

Prime Minister

<u>Deputy Prime Minister</u> (1)

Cde. P.A. Reid,

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of

National Development

Senior Ministers (11)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C.,

Minister of Economic Development and Co-operatives (Absent-on Leave)

Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A.,

Minister of Works and Transport (Absent)

Cde. B. Ramsaroop, (Absent)

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

and Leader of the House

Cde. C.V. Mingo,

Minister of Home Affairs

*Cde. H. Green,

Minister of Health, Housing and Labour

Cde. H.O. Jack,

Minister of Energy and Natural Resources

*Cde. F.E. Hope,

Minister of Finance (Absent)

*Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H. (Absent -on leave)

Minister of Agriculture

*Cde.M.Shabuddeen, C.C.H., S.C.,

Attorney General and Minister of Justice

*Cde. R.E. Jackson,

Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)

*Cde. J.A .Tyndall, A.A.,

Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)

Ministers (2)

Cde.O.E. Clarke,

Minister - Regional

(East Berbice /Corentyne)

Cde. C.A. Nascimento,

Minister, Office of the Prime Minister

Minister of State (10)

*Cde. F.U.A.Carmicheal,

Minister of State – Regional (Rupununi)

*Cde. P. Duncan, J.P.,

Minister of State, Ministry of Economic

Development and Co-operatives

*Cde.K.B. Bancroft, J.P.,

Minister of State-Regional

(Mazaruni /Potaro)

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P.,

Minister of State -Regional

(Essequibo Coast /West Demerara)

Cde. J.R.Thomas,

Minister of State, Ministry of Education,

Social Development and Culture (Absent)

Cde.R.H.O. Corbin,

Minister of State for Youth and Sport,

Ministry of National Development (Absent- on leave)

Cde.S.Prashad,

Minister of State – Regional

(East Demerara /West Coast Berbice)

Cde.R.C Van Sluytman,

Minister of State,

Ministry of Agriculture

^{*}Non-elected Ministers

*Cde. F.U.A.Campbell,

Minister of State for Information,

Ministry of National Development

*Cde. H.Rashid,

Minister of State,

Office of the Prime Minister

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

Cde. M.M.Ackman, C.C.H.,

Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and

Government Chief Whip

(Absent on leave)

Cde. E.L. Ambrose,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Cde.M.Corrica,

Parliamentary Secretary,

Ministry of Education, Social Development

and Culture

Cde. E.M. Bynoe,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade

and Consumer Protection

Cde. C.E Wrights, J.P,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of

Economic Development and Co-operatives

Cde. J.G. Ramson,

Parliamentary Secretary,

Ministry of Works and Transport

Other Members (15)

Cde. W.G. Carrington, C.C.H.

Cde. S.M.Field-Ridley

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler

Cde. J.Gill

Cde.W.Hussain

Cde.K.M.E. Jonas

Cde. P.A. Rayman

Cde.A. Salim

Cde. E.M.Stoby, J.P. (Absent)

Cde.S.H.Suhhu, M.S.

^{*}Non-elected Ministers

Cde.H.A.Taylor

Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P

Cde.L.E. Willems

Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen

Members of the Opposition (16)

(i) <u>People's Progressive Party</u> (14)

<u>Leader of the Opposition</u> (1)

Cde.C. Jagan,

Leader of the Opposition (Absent)

<u>Deputy Speaker</u> (1)

Cde. Ram Karran,

Deputy Speaker

Other Members (12)

Cde. J.Jagan (Absent)

Cde.Reepu Demand Persaud, J.P., Opposition Chief Whip

Cde.Narbada Persaud (Absent)

Cde.C. Collymore

Cde.S.F. Mohamed (Absent)

Cde.I.Basir

Cde.C.C.Belgrave

Cde.R.Ally

Cde.Dalchand, J.P.

Cde.Dindayal

Cde.H.Nokta (Absent)

Cde.P.Sukhai

(ii) <u>Liberator Party</u> (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P.

Mr. M.A. Abraham (Absent)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly - F.A Narain, A.A.

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - M. B. Henry

PRAYERS

<u>1.2.80</u> <u>2.10-2.15 p.m.</u>

2.10 p.m

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Appointment of Cde. Duncan as a Regional Minister

<u>The Speaker</u>: Comrades and hon. Member, I have been informed that Cde. Duncan has been appointed a Regional Minister and has been designated Minister of State –Regional (North West) with effect from 1st January, 1980.

Leave to Members

The Speaker: Leave has been granted to Cde. Corbin for today's sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS

<u>The Speaker</u>: Comrades and hon. Member, in pursuance of a Resolution of this National Assembly which was passed on 21st July, 1978, the Constituent Assembly has prepared for the consideration of the National Assembly a Constitution for the Co-operative Republic of Guyana.

I now formally lay before the National Assembly-

- (1) (i) That Constitution, together with
 - (ii) A Report on the Work of the Constituent Assembly;
 - (iii) The Memoranda received by the Constituent Assembly, with Indexes;
 - (iv) Minutes of the Meetings of the Constituent Assembly;
 - (v) Verbatim Record of the Proceedings of the Meetings of the Constituent Assembly.

The following Papers and Reports were also laid:

- (2) Annual Report and Statement of Accounts of the Guyana Electricity Corporation for the year ended December 31, 1976. [The Deputy Prime Minister of National Development, on behalf of the Prime Minister.]
- (3) (a) Annual Report of the Guyana Police Force for the year 1975 by the Commissioner of Police.
 - (b) Annual Report of the Guyana Police Force for the year 1976 by the Commissioner of Police.
 - (c) Annual Report of the Guyana Fire Service for the year 1974. [The Minister of Home Affairs.]
- (4) (a) Special Action Credit Agreement (Import Program) between Guyana and International Development Association as Administrator of the Special Action Account established with Funds contributed by the Member States of the European Economic Community. Special Action Credit Number 29GUA.Dated September 17, 1979.

<u>1.2.80</u> <u>2.10-2.15 p.m.</u>

(b) Loan Agreement (Supenaam Sub-Project) (Tapakuma Irrigation Project) between Caribbean Development Bank and Guyana. Loan No. 6/OR-GU. Dated: November 5, 1979.

- (c) Loan Agreement (69-KV Electricity Transmission Line) Between Caribbean Development Bank and Guyana and Guyana Electricity Corporation. Loan No.7/ OR-GU. Dated: November 5, 1979.
 - (d) Annual Report and Accounts of the Guyana Co-operative Agricultural and Industrial Development Bank for the year 1978.
 - (e) Annual Report and Accounts of the Guyana National Co-operative Bank for the year 1978.
 - (f) External Loans (Limitation Increase) Order 1980 (No.2), made under section 3 (7) of the External Loans Act, Chapter 74:08, on the 25th of January, 1980 and published in the Gazette on the 26th of January,1980, .[The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House on behalf of the Minister of Finance.]

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS- First Reading

The following Bill was introduced and read the First Time:

Financial Administration and Audit (Amendment) Bill 1980 – Bill No.1 of 1980, published 26.1.80. [The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House on behalf of the Minister of Finance.]

ADJOURNMENT

Resolved. "That this Assembly do now adjourn until Monday, 4th February, 1980, at 2 p.m." [The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House.]

Adjourned accordingly at 2.15 p.m.