THE

PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

OFFICIAL REPORTS

VOLUME 107

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983) OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA

24th Sitting 14:00 hr	Monday 1984-03-12
Speaker (1)	eaker in the Chair E NATIONA ASSEMBLY (71)
Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly	(Absent – on leave)
Members of the Government - Peo	ple's National Congress (58)
<u>Prime Minister</u> (1)	
Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister	(Absent – on leave)
Other Vice-Presidents (4)	
Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Production	
Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Social Infrastructu	(Absent)
Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Mat	ters
Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., Vice-President and Attorney General	
Senior Ministers (6)	
Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education, Social Devel	opment and Culture
Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National Mobilisation	(Absent)
Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs	(Absent – on leave)
Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs	
Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines	
Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Pr	(Absent)
Non-elected Member	

* Non-elected Member

<u>Ministers</u> (7)	(Absent – on leave)
Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime	
Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister within the Ministry of Agri	culture
Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within t of Education, Social Development and	he Ministry Culture
Cde. S. Prashad, M.P., Minister of Transport within the Vic	(Absent – on leave) e-Presidency
of Social Infrastructure	
Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and Public S	(Absent – on leave)
Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfar	(Absent) e
Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operativ	es
Ministers of State (2)	
Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State within the Ministr Trade and Consumer Protection	y of Internal
Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P., Minister of State within the Ministr Development	y of Regional
Parliamentary Secretaries (4)	
Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, wi Ministry of Health and Public Welfar	thin the e
Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary within the M Education, Social Development and Cu	(Absent) inistry of lture
Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Office Prime Minister	(Absent – on leave of the
Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary within the M Agriculture	inistry of

Non-elected Member

Other Members (23)

Cde. M. Ally, M.P. (Absent) Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P. Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P. Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P. Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P. Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. (Absent) Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. (Absent) Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P. (Absent) Cde. A. McRae, M.P. Cde. E. Melville, M.P. (Absent) Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P. (Absent) Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P. (Absent) Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P. Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P. (Absent) Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P. Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P. Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (9)

Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) Cde. W.Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) (i) <u>People's Progressive Party</u> (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., (Absent) Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave) Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde, C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent) Cde, S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde, I. Basir, M.P. Cde, C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent) Cde, H. Nokta, M.P.,

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly - Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A.

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

[The Deputy Speaker, Cde. Ram Karran, M.P. in the Chair]

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

14:10 nrs

[The Deputy Speaker in the Chair]

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave to Members

<u>The Deputy Speaker</u> (Cde. Ram Karran): Comrades and hon. Member, the Speaker is unable to be present at today's Sitting of the Assembly.

Leave from Sittings of the Assembly has been granted to the Prime Minister, Cde. Dr. Reid, to Cdes. Hoyte, Jackson, Prashad, Harewood-Benn, Clarke and Feroze Mohamed from today's sitting; to Cde. Bhaggan until the end of the week; to Cde. Beniprashad up to the end of May; and to Cde. Janet Jagan for two weeks from today.

Congratulations on National Awards

<u>The Deputy Speaker</u>: Among the persons who were honoured with National Awards on the occasion of the Fourteenth Anniversary of the Republic on 23rd February last, were three who have been associated with our Parliament. They are --

- Cde. John Carter, a former Member of Parliament and a former Diplomat. Cde. Carter received the second highest National Award, the Order of Roraima, for outstanding service to Guyana in the diplomatic field;
- (2) Cde. Shiv Sahai Naraine, a former Vice-President and now high High Commissioner for Guyana to India Cde. Naraine received the Cacique Crown of Honour for political service of an exceptionally high quality and beyond the normal call of duty; and
- (3) Cde. Marjorie Joy Kirkpatrick, our Caterer. Cde. Kirkpatrick received the Medal of Service for long service with exceptional dedication in the research and promotion of the use of Guyanese foods.

I am sure that Members of the Assembly would wish us to place on record our pleasure on the Awards and to extend our congratulations to the three persons. 14:15_hrs

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS

The following papers were laid:

- Pensions (President, Parliamentary and Special Offices) (Designation) Order 1984 (No. 10), made under section 2 of the Pensions (President, Parliamentary and Special Offices) Act, Chapter 27:03, on 26th January 1984. /The Vice-President, Party and State Matters, on behalf of the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning./
- (2) (a) Factories (Prescribed Forms) (Amendment) Regulations 1984 (No. 2), made under section 26 of the Factories Act, Chapter 95:02, on 21st January, 1984.
 - (b) Factorios (Health and Wolfare) (Amendment) Regulations 1984 (No. 3), made under section 26 of the Factories Act, Chapter 95:02, on 21st January, 1984. <u>The Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives.</u>

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS - FIRST READING

The following Bill was introduced and read the First time:

Labour (Amendment) Bill 1984 - Bill No. 5/1984. /The Minister Of Manpower and Co-operatives./

ADJOURNMENT

"Resolved, ' "that this Assembly do now adjourn to Fridar, 1984-03-16 at

14:00 hrs." /The Vice-President, Party and State Matters.7

Adjorned accordingly at 14:20hrs.