#### THE

### PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

# OFFICIAL REPORTS

## VOLUME 10

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983) OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA

31st Sitting

14:00 hrs on Monday 1984-08-13

## MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (70)

## Speaker (1)

\* Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

## Members of the Government - People's National Congress (57)

## Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

## Other Vice-Presidents (4)

Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Production.

Cde. H. Green, M.P.,

Vice-President, Social Infrastructure

Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P.,

Vice-President, Party and State Matters

(Absent-on-leave)

\* Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R. S.C., M.P.. Vice-President and Attorney General

## Senior Ministers (6)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P.,

Minister of Education, Social Development and Culture

1

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P.,

Minister of National Mobilisation

Cde. H. Rashid, M.P.,

Minister of Energy and Mines

(Absent-on-leave)

\* Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P.,

Minister of Foreign Affairs

(Absent)

\* Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P.,

Minister of Home Affairs

\* Cde. C.B. Greenidge, M.P.,

Minister of Finance and Economic Planning

(Absent)

\* Non-elected Member

### Ministers (7)

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P.,
  Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of Youth and Sport within the Ministry of Education, Social Development and Culture
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P.,
  Minister of Transport within the Vice-Presidency
  of Social Infrastructure
- \* Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister of Information and Public Service
- \* Cde. Dr. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health and Public Welfare
- \* Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Manpower and Co-operatives

## Ministers of State (2)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P.,
  Minister of State within the Ministry of Internal
  Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.S., M.P.,
  Minister of State within the Ministry of Regional
  Development

### Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Housing, within the Ministry of Health and Public Welfare
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P.,
  Parliamentary Secretary within the Ministry of
  Education, Social Development and Culture

Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P.,
Parliamentary Secretary in the Office of the
Prime Minister

(Absent-on-leave)

\* Non-elected Member

```
Other Members (23)
Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
Cde. M. Armogan, M.S., J.P., M.P.
Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P.
Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
                                                 (Absent)
Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
Cde. E. Melville, M.P.
                                                 (Absent)
Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
Cde. R.N. Primo, N.P.
Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
                                                  (Absent)
Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P., Government Chief Whip
Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.
Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.
Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (9)
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
                                                                                 (Absent)
Cde. W. Bipat, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
```

## Members of the Minority (12)

# (i) People's Progressive Party (10)

### Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P.,

Minority Leader

(Absent)

## Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P.,

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent)

### Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P.

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P.,

(ii) United Force (2)

Minority Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

(Absent) Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

(Absent-on-leave)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

(Absent) (Absent)

(Absent)

# Cde. H. Nokta, M.P.,

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P.

(Absent-on-leave)

Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

### OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly - Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A.

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Cde. M.B. Henry

### PRAYERS

<u>14:15 – 14: 20 hrs</u>

#### NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

14:15 hrs

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

### Leave to Members

The Speaker: Leave has been granted to Cdes. Ramsaroop, Rashid, Ainsworth and honourable Member Mr. M.F. Singh for today's sitting.

### PRESENTATIONS OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC

The following paper was laid:

(1) Annual Report of the Ministry of Finance for the year 1983. <u>The Vice-President, Production, on behalf of the Minister of Economic Planning and Finance</u>

The following Bill was introduced and read the First time:

National Equivalency Board Bill 1984 – Bill No. 11/1984 / The Prime Minister, on behalf of the Government /

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The Speaker: Cde. Thomas.

Resolved, "That this Assembly do now adjourn to Wednesday 1984-08-15." /The Minister of Home Affairs./

Adjourned accordingly at 14:20 hrs