# <u>THE</u>

# PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

## OFFICIAL REPORTS

### /Volume 08/

# PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE SECOND SESSION (1981) OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF THE CO-OPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA.

6 <sup>th</sup> Sitting	2 p.m.	Tuesday, 1981-02-24
	MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSE	EMBLY (82)
Speaker (1)		
*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R	., J.P., M.P.,	
Speaker of the N	National Assembly	
Membe	rs of the Government – People's National Co	ongress (69)
Prime Minister (1)		
Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E	, M.P.,	
Prime Minister		
Other Vice-Presidents (4	<u>4)</u>	
Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A.	, M.P.,	(Absent on-leave)
Vice-President,	Works and Transport	
Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C.,	M.P.,	
Vice-President,	Economic Planning and Finance	
Cde. H. Green, M.P.		
Vice-President,	Public Welfare	
Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.	Р.,	
Vice-President,	Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relation	ons
Senior Ministers (10)		
Cde. R. Chandisingh, M	I.P.,	
Minister of Hig	her Education	
Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.,		
Minister of Reg	ional Development	
Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.	Р.,	
Minister of Nati	ional Development	
*Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P.,		(Absent)
Minister of Trac	de and Consumer Protection	
*Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P.,		(Absent)
Minister of Ene	rgy and Mines	
*Cde. Dr. M. Shahabud	deen, O.R., S.C., M.P.,	(Absent)
Attorney Gener	al and Minister of Justice	
*Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.I	Р.,	(Absent)
Minister of Fore	eign Affairs	
*Cde. J.A. Tyndall, A.A	м., М.Р.,	(Absent on-leave)
Minister of Agr	iculture	
*Cde. S.A. Moore, M.P	•,	(Absent)
Minister of Hor	ne Affairs	
*Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.H	) ,	(Absent)
Minister of Edu	cation	

\*Non-elected Member

Ministers (13)	
Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.,	
Minister, Environment and Water Supply, in the	
Ministry of Public Welfare	
Cde. U. E. Johnson, M.P.,	
Minister of Co-operatives	
Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P.,	
Minister, Consumer Protection, in the	
Ministry of Trade and Consumer Protection	
Cde. S. Prashad, M.P.,	
Minister, Crops and Livestock, in the	
Minister, Crops and Livestock, in the Ministry of Agriculture	
Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P.,	
Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of	
Economic Planning and Finance	
Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.,	
Minister, Fisheries, in the Ministry of Agriculture	
*Cde. C.A. Nascimento, M.P.,	(Absent)
Minister, Mechanical Equipment, in the	
Ministry of Works and Transport	
*Cde. F.U.A. Campbell, M.P.,	
Minister of Information	
*Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, M.P.,	
Minister, Forestry, in the Minister of Agriculture.	
*Cde. Y. V. Harewood-Benn, M.P.,	
Minister of Public Service	
*Cde. H. Rashid, M.P.,	(Absent)
Minister, in the Office of the President	
*Cde. Van Sluytman, M.P.,	
Minister, Drainage and Irrigation in the	
Ministry of Agriculture	
*Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P.,	(Absent)
Minister, Health, in the Ministry	(11000110)
of Public Welfare	
Ministers of State (3)	
Cde. M. Corrica, M.P.,	
Minister of State for Culture, in the Ministry of	
Education, Social Development and Culture	
*	
Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth Sports	
Minister of State for Youth Sports,	
in the Ministry of National Development	
*Cde. C.E. Wright, M.P.,	
Minister of State for Construction, in the	
Ministry of Works and Transport	
Parliamentary Secretaries (3)	
Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P.,	
Parliamentary Secretary, Women's Affairs	
and Housing	
Cde. P.A Rayman, M.P.,	
Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister	
*Cde. E.M. Bynoe, M.P.,	
Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister	

\*Non-elected Member

Other Members (23) Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P. Cde. M. Ally, M.P. Cde. M. Armogan, M.P. Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P. Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P. Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P. Cde. E. B. Davidson, M.P. Cde. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P. Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P. Cde. P. Frederick, M.P. (Absent) Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P. Cde. J. Gill, M.P. Cde. A. McRae, M.P. Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P. Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P. Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P. Cde. S.H Sukhu, M.S., M.P. Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P. Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. Cde. H.B. Walcott, J.P., M.P. Government Chief Whip Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2) (Absent on-leave) Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P. Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P. Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10) Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini) Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent on-leave) Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara) Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica) Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne) Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No.7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No.8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No.9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No.10 – Upper Demerara/Berbice)

<ul> <li>(i) <u>People's Progressive Party (10)</u></li> <li><u>Minority Leader</u> (1)</li> <li>Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P. Minority Leader</li> </ul>
Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P.
Deputy Speaker (1)
Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly
Other Members (8)
Cde. J. Jagan M.P.
Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P.
Minority Chief Whip
Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.
Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.
Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.
Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

(ii) <u>United Force</u> (2)

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

Mr. M.F. Singh, J.P., M.P. Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

#### **Officers**

Clerk of the National Assembly – Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly – Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

(Absent on-leave)

(Absent)

(Absent on-leave) (Absent)

#### National Assembly

#### ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

#### (i) <u>LEAVE TO MEMBERS</u>

<u>The Speaker:</u> Leave has been granted to the Minority Leader for one month from 13<sup>th</sup> February, and to Cde. Bishop and Mr. Feilden Singh for today's Sitting.

#### (ii) Availability of the Speaker

I would wish to also to take this opportunity to inform Members of the Assembly that the Speaker will not be available to Members after a quarter to two on the day of any Sitting. They cannot expect to come in at five minutes to two to see me on matters. They must come in not later than a quarter to two.

#### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS ETC.

<u>The Speaker:</u> I present to the Assembly the Minutes of the first meeting of the Committee of Selection which was held on Friday, 13<sup>th</sup> February, 1981. Copies of these Minutes have been circulated. Members are kindly asked to note therefore the names of those persons who have been nominated to the other five Select Committees of the Assembly.

# PUBLIC BUSINESS MOTION APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1981 BUDGET DEBATE

The Speaker: Cde. Ramsaroop.

<u>The Vice-President, Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations</u> (Cde. Ramsaroop): Cde. Speaker, as we can observe this afternoon, it is only at the commencement of this Sitting that copies of the Estimate of the Public Sector, Current and Capital, Expenditure and Revenues have been distributed to Members of this Assembly. This has occasioned because of technical problems. Speaking on behalf of the Government, we feel that in the light of this circumstances that adequate time has not been given to all parties to consider the aspects that will go into the general debate on the Budget and accordingly I am requesting that the debate be adjourned to Friday, 27<sup>th</sup> February. I accordingly move the Adjournment of this Assembly to that date at 2 p.m.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

<u>Resolved</u>, "That this Assembly do now adjourn to a date to be fixed." <u>[The Vice-President</u>, <u>Parliamentary Affairs and Party/State Relations.]</u>

Adjourned accordingly at 3 p.m.