THE

PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

OFFICIAL REPORT

[Volume 7]

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSITUTITION OF GUYANA

84 th Sitting	2 p.m.	Friday, 12 th December, 1975

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

Cde. Sase Narain, J.P., Speaker

Members of the Government – People's National Congress (50)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C.,

(Absent)

Prime Minister

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Cde. P.A, Reid,

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development

Senior Ministers (9)

Cde.H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Economic Development (Absent)

* Cde. H. Greene,

Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

*Non-elected Minister

* Cde. H.O. Jack, (Absent) Minister of Energy and Natural Resources * Cde. F.E. Hope, (Absent) Minister of Finance * Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Works and Housing * Cde. G.A. King, Minister of Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent) * Cde. G.B. Kennard, C.C.H., Minister of Agriculture * Cde. C.L. Baird, (Absent) Minister of Education and Social Development * Cde. F.R. Willis S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice Ministers (5) Cde. W.G. Carrington, (Absent – on leave) Minister of Labour Cde. S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture Cde. B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and leader of the House * Cde. O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health (Absent) * Cde. C.V. Mingo, Minister of Home Affairs **Ministers of State (9)** Cde. M. Kasim, A.A., (Absent) Minister of State for Agriculture

*Non-elected Ministers

Cde. O.E. Clarke, Minister of State – Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State – Regional (Rupununi) (Absent)

Cde. C.A. Nascimento,

Minister of State,
Office of the Prime Minister

Cde. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State – Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent)

Cde. K.B. Bancroft, Minister of State - Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)

* Cde. W. Haynes, Minister of State for Consumer Protection (Absent)

Willister of State for Consumer Protection

* Cde. A. Salim, Minister of State – Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice) (Absent)

* Cde. F.U.A. Carmichael, Minister of State – Regional (North West)

Parliamentary Secretaries (8)

Cde. J.R. Thomas,
Parliamentary Secretary,
Ministry of National Development

(Absent)

Cde. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Housing

Cde. M.M. Ackman,
Parliamentary Secretary,
Office of the Prime Minister and Government Chief Whip

*Non-elected Ministers

Cde. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture

Cde. S. Prashad,

Parliamentary Secretary,

Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Social Development

Cde. R.H.O. Corbin,

Parliamentary Secretary,

Office of the Prime Minister

Cde. M. Corrica,

Parliamentary Secretary,

Ministry of Works and Housing

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. R.C. Van Sluytman, Deputy Speaker

Other Members (16)

Cde. J.N. Aaron

Cde. L.M. Branco

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler

Cde. J. Gill

Cde. W. Hussain

Cde. S. Jaiserrisingh

Cde. K.M.E. Jonas

Cde. M. Nissar

Cde. L.E. Ramsahoye

Cde. J.G. Ramson

Cde. P.A. Rayman

Cde. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P.

Cde. C. Sukul, J.P.

Cde. H.A. Taylor

Cde. L.E. Willems

(Absent)

(Absent)

(Absent – on leave)

(Absent – on leave) (Absent – on leave)

Members of the Opposition – Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, Leader of the Opposition Mrs. E. DaSilva

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly – F.A. Narain

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly – M.B. Henry, AMBIM

PRAYERS

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER

Leave to Members

The Speaker: Leave has been granted to Cde. Carrington and Cde.Nissar for today's Sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS

The following Paper was laid:

Report on the Geological Surveys and Mines Department for the year 1973. [The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House on behalf of the Minister of Energy and Natural Resources]

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS - FIRST READING

The following Bills were introduced and read a First Time:

- (1) Constitution (Amendment) Bill 1975 Bill No. 34/1975 [**The Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice**]
- (2) Rent Control (Special Provision) (Amendment) Bill 1975 Bill No. 35/1975 [The Minister of Works and Housing]

ADJOURNMENT

The Speaker: Cde. Leader of the House.

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House (Cde.Ramsaroop):

Cde. Speaker, the Order Paper for the next Sitting of this Assembly has been or will be

distributed shortly. It is expected that both the Bills that have been introduced today will be taken

next Thursday through their remaining stages.

I respectfully ask the leave of this House to move a Motion that the House be adjourned

to Thursday, 18th day of December, 1975.

Adjourned accordingly at 2.05 p.m.
