

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL DEBATES

(HANSARD)

FOURTH SESSION OF THE SECOND LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

OF

BRITISH GUIANA

(Constituted under the British Guiana (Constitution) (Temporary Provisions) Orders in Council, 1953 and 1956).

SESSION 1960 - 1961

9TH DECEMBER, 1960 TO 14TH JULY, 1961.

The B.G. Lithographic Co. Ltd .- Printers to the British Guiana Government.

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL.

Spea	ker, His Ho	nour, Sir Donald Ja	ckson.
	•	Hon. Major I. O. Sm	ex ex onicio
	-	Hon. A. M. I. Aust	in, Q.C.
Fina	ncial Secreta	ry,Hon. W. P. D'And	*
The	Honourable	Dr. C. B. Jagan	-Member for Eastern Berbice (Minister of Trade and Industry)
"	57	B. H. Benn	-Member for Essequibo River (Minister of Natural Resources)
"	57	Janet Jagan	-Member for Western Essequibo (Minister of Labour, Health and Housing)
27	22	Ram Karran	Member for Demerare-Essequibo (Minister of Communications and Works)
55	53	B. S. Rai	-Member for Central Demerara (Minister of Community Develop- ment and Education).
Mr. R. B. Gajraj			Nominated Member
, ,,	W. O. R. H	endall	-Member for New Amsterdam
"	R. C. Tello		Nominated Member
	F. Bowman		-Member for Demerara River
**	L. F. S. Burnham, Q.C.		—Member for Georgetown Central
32	S. Campbell		-Member for North Western District
>>	A. L. Jackson		-Member for Georgetown North
>>	E. H. Beharry		-Member for Eastern Demerara
",	S. M. Saffee		—Member for Western Berbice
"	Ajodha Sin		-Member for Berbice River
>>	Jai Narine		-Member for Georgetown South
35	R. E. Davis		Nominated Member
	A. M. Fredericks		-Nominated Member
"	H. J. M. H		-Nominated Member
25	A. G. Task	er, O.B.E.	Nominated Member.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the Legislature-Mr. I. Crum Ewing.

Assistant Clerk of the Legislature-Mr E. V. Viapree.

Official Reporters-Messrs. V. A. Alleyne, L. G. Rohlehr, W. E. Archer and H. A. Grimshaw.

Marshal-Mr. C. B. Cadogan.

His Excellency the Governor, Sir Ralph Francis Alnwick Grey, K.C.M.G. K.C.V.O., O.B.E. — Chairman.

Departments

Police (including Immigration). Chief Secretary, B.G. Volunteer Force. Government Information Services. Public Service Commission. Interior. Law Officers. Attorney-General, Crown Solicitor, Public Trustee and Official Receiver. Deeds Registry. Treasury. Financial Secretary, Customs and Excise. Post Office Savings Bank. Inland Revenue Office. Licence Revenue Office. Statistical Bureau. Trade and Industry. Hon. Dr. C. B. Jagan, Minister of Trade and Industry. Supplies and Prices. Co-operative Development. Forestry. Mines. Geological Survey. Hon. B. H. Benn, Agriculture. Minister of Natural Resources. Lands. Drainage and Irrigation. Land Development. Hon. Janet Jagan, Labour. Medical. Minister of Labour, Health and Housing. Housing.

Hon. Ram Karran, Minister of Communications and Works.

Hon. B. S. Rai, Minister of Community Development and Education.

Registrar General (except as regards electoral matters). Government Analyst.

Public Works. Post Office (other than Post Office Savings Bank). Transport and Harbours. Civil Aviation.

Local Government. Social Welfare. Prisons. Essequibo Boys' School. Education (including Queen's College, Bishops' High School, and Technical Institute)