THE

INDEX

PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

OFFICIAL REPORT

[VOLUME7]

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA UNDER THE CONSTITUTION OF GUYANA

3rd Sitting

2 p.m.

Thursday, 2nd August, 1973.

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government – People's National Congress (49)

Prime Minister (1)The Honourable L. F. S. Burnham, O.E., S.C.,Prime Minister(Absent - on leave)

Deputy Prime Minister (1)

Dr. the Honourable P. A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture (Absent)

Senior Ministers (7)

The Honourable H. D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications *The Honourable S. S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice (Absent) *The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent) *The Honourable H. O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources *The Honourable F. E. Hope, Minister of Finance

* Non-elected Minister

*Dr. the Honourable K. F. S. King, Minister of Economic Development	
•The Honourable S. S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing	
Ministers (5)	
The Honourable W. G. Carrington, Minister of Labour	
The Honourable Miss S. M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture	
The Honourable B. Ramsaroop,Minister of Parliamentary Affairsand Leader of the House(Absent - a)	m leave)
* The Honourable Miss C. L. Baird, Minister of Education	
*Dr. the Honourable O. M. R. Harper, Minister of Health	
Ministers of State (9)	
The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture	
The Honourable O. E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice / Corentyne)	
The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State - Regional (Rupununi)	
The Honourable C. A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister	
The Honourable M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State - Regional (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara)	
*The Honourable C. V. Mingo, Minister of State for Home Affairs	
*The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State - Regional (Mazaruni/Potaro)	(Absent)
*The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice))
•The Honourable F. U. A. Carmichael, Minister of State - Regional (North West)	

+ I

.

*Non-elected Minister

liamentary Secretaries (8)

Mr. J. R. Thomas,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing

Mr. C. E. Wrights, J.P.,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Miss M. M. Ackman,

Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip

Mr. E. L. Ambrose,

Parliamentary Secretary, (Agriculture), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture

Mr. K. B. Bancroft,

Parliamentary Secretary, (Hinterland), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture

Mr. S. Prashad,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

Mr. J. P. Chowritmootoo,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education

Mr. R. H. O. Corbin,

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation

Other Members (18)

Mr. J. N. Aaron Mrs. L. M. Branco Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E. H. A. Fowler Miss J. Gill Mr. W. Hussain Miss S. Jaiserrisingh Mr. K. M. E. Jonas Mr. M. Nissar Dr. L. E. Ramsahoye Mr. J. G. Ramson Mrs. P. A. Rayman Mr. E. M. Stoby, J.P. Mr. S. H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P. Mr. C. Sukul, J.P. Mr. H. A. Taylor Mr. R. C. Van Sluytman Mrs. L. E. Willems

(Absent)

Liberator Party (2)

Dr. G. Kumar Mr. M. F. Singh, (Deputy Speaker) (Absent)

÷

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly — Mr. F. A. Narain Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly — Mr. M. B. Henry, AMBIM. 2.10 p.m.

|Prayers|

OATH OF OFFICE

The oath of office was made and subscribed by:

The Hon. S. S. Naraine, A. A., Minister of HousingMr. J. P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education.
Mr. R. H. O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Congratulations to New Members

The Speaker: Hon. Members, may I congratulate you on your appointment to the National Assembly of Guyana.

Leave to Members

Leave has been granted to the hon. Prime Minister to the 13th August, 1973, and to the hon. Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House to the same date.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS -- FIRST READING

The following Bills were introduced and read the First time.

Trade (Amendment) Bill 1973 — Bill No. 14/1973. [The Minister of Information and Culture]. Pounds (Amendment) Bill 1973 — Bill No. 15/1973. [The Minister of State for

(Home Affairs).]

ADJOURNMENT

Resolved, That this Assembly do now adjourn until Friday, 3rd August, 1973 at 2 p.m. [Miss Field-Ridley.]

Adjourned accordingly at 2.20 p.m.

Printed by the Guyana Printers Ltd., Industrial Estate, Ruimveldt, Greater Georgetown, Guyana.