### FIRST SESSION

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 2nd Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

> AT 2.00 P.M. ON Monday, 30Th July, 1973

# MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

### <u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)

### Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture

## <u>Senior Ministers (7)</u>

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications # The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and

- Justice (Absent)
- # The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilization
- # The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- # The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance
- # Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development
- # The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing (Absent)

#### Ministers (5)

- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture
- The Honourable B. Ramssroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House
- # The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education
- # Dr. the Honourable O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health

## Ministers of State (9)

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State (Agriculture)
The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of State (East Berbice/Corentyne)
The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State (Rupununi)
The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State (Uffice of the Prime Minister

# Non elected Minister

The Honourable M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State (Internal Security) The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State (Mazaruni/Potaro) The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of State (East Demerara/West # Coast Berbice) # The Honourable F.U.A. Carmichael, Minister of State (North West) Parliamentary Secretaries (8) Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary (Agriculture), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture Mr. K.B. Bancroft, Parliamentary Secretary (Hinterland), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture Mr. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilization Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education (Absent) Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilization (Absent) Sther Members (18) Mr. J.N. Aaron Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Miss J. Gill Mr. W. Hussain Miss S. Jaiserrisingh Mr. K.M.E. Jonas Mr. M. Nissar Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye Mr. J.G. Ramson Mrs. P.A. Rayman Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P. Mr. C. Sukul, J.P. Mr. H.A. Taylor (Absent) Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mrs. L.E. Willems Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Dr. G. Kumar (Absent) Mr. M.F. Singh, Deputy Speaker

#### **OFFICERS**

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

# PRAYERS

#

The Clerk read Prayers.

# Non elected Minister

# DATHS

The oath of office was made and subscribed by Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture, who was thereafter congratulated by His Honour the Speaker.

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

### MOTIONS

# ITEM 1 - CONFIRMATION OF TRAVEL VOUCHER TAX ORDER 1973 (No. 58)

The Minister of Finance moved the following motion which was put and <u>carried</u>:

## BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly in accordance with section 4 of the Travel Voucher Tax Act 1973 confirm the Travel Voucher Tax Order 1973 (No. 58), which was made on the 13th June, 1973, and published in the Gazette on the 14th June, 1973.

#### ITEM 2 - SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER

At the request of the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the following motion was substituted for the motion at Item 1 on the Order Paper:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That paragraph (3) of Standing Order No. 46 be suspended to enable the Assembly to commence consideration of the second reading of the Constitution (Amendment) Bill 1973, at its sitting on the 30th of July, 1973.

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House thereafter moved the substituted motion.

The Deputy Speaker spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

### BILL - Second Reading

# ITEM 3 - CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL 1973 - Bill No. 13/1973 <u>published 28.7.73</u>

The Minister of Energy and Natural Resources moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO ALTER THE CONSTITUTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 73 THEREOF FOR THE PURPOSE OF REDUCING THE AGE OF MAJORITY FOR ELECTURAL AND OTHER PURPOSES, AND FOR ABOLISHING APPEALS AND REFERENCES TO THE JUDICIAL COMMITTEE OF THE PRIVY COUNCIL. The Deputy Speaker, Miss Jaiserrisingh and Mr. Jonas spoke to the motion.

# <u>ADJUURNMENT</u>

At 4.10 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NABAIN Speaker 2/8/73.

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1st August, 1973.