FIRST SESSION

1**9**73

MINUTES of the Froceedings of the 3rd Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΟN

THURSDAY, 2ND AUGUST, 1973

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

<u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

<u>Members of the Government - People's National Congress (49)</u>

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister (Absent -

- on leave)
- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture (Absent)

Senior Ministers (7)

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications # The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and

- Justice (Absent)
- # The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilization (Absent)
- # The Honourable H.O Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- # The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance

Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development

The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing

<u>Ministers (5)</u>

- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House (Absent - on leave)
- # The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education
- # Dr. the Honourable O.N.R. Harper, Minister of Health

Ministersof State (9)

- The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State (Agriculture)
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of State (East Berbice/Corentyne)
- The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State (Rupununi)
- The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State (Office of the Prime Minister

Non elected Minister

The Honourable M. Zahseruddeen, J.P., Minister of State (Essequibo Coast/West Demerara) The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State (Home Affairs) # # The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State (Mazaruni/Potaro)(Absent) # The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of State (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice) # The Honourable F.U.A. Carmichael, Minister of State (North West) Parliamentary Secretaries (8) Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary (Agriculture), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture Mr. K.B. Bancroft, Parliamentary Secretary (Hinterland), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture Mr. 5. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilization Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilization Other Members (18) Mr. J.N. Aaron Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Miss J. Gill Mr. W. Hussain Miss S. Jaiserrisingh Mr. K.M.E. Jonas Mr. M. Nissar Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye Mr, J.G. Ramson Mrs. P.A. Rayman Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P., (Absent) Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P. Mr. C. Sukul, J.P. Mr. H.A. Taylor Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Dr. G. Kumar (Absent) Mr. M.F. Singh, Deputy Speaker

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Elerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

Non elected Minister

The oath of office was made and subscribed by -

- (i) The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing
- (1) Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, and
- (iii) Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilization

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Congratulations to new Members</u>

His Honou; the Speaker congratulated the Members who made and subscribed the path of office at that sitting.

(ii) <u>Leave</u>

His Honour announced that leave had been granted to the Prime Minister and to Mr. Ramsaroop up to the 13th of August, 1973.

INTRUDUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

(1) <u>TRADE (AMENDMENT) BILL 1973 - Bill No. 14/1973</u> published 1.8.73

The Minister of Information and Culture, on behalf of the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

- A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE TRADE ORDINANCE, 1958.
- (2) <u>PUUNDS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1973 Bill No. 15/1973</u> <u>published 1.8.73</u>

The Minister of State (Home Affairs), on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE POUNDS ORDINANCE, CHAPTER 82.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.20 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Information and Culture, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, the 3rd of August, 1973.

5. NARAIN 3/8/73 Speaker

PARLIAMENT UFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd August, 1973.