FIRST SESSION

```
1973
```

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 15th Sitting of the National Assembly held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 29TH NOVEMBER, 1973

### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### <u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (50)

Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister (2)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Frime Minister (Absent -

on leave)

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture

<u>Senior Ministers (7)</u>

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications (Absent on leave)

- # The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Justice
- # The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation
- # The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources
- # The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance # Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Jevelopment
- # The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing

The honodiable 5.5. Natalic, A.A., Hinster of hods

### <u>Ministers (6)</u>

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information and Culture The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House # The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education (Absent - on leave) # Dr. the Honourable O.M.R. Harper, Minister of Health # The Honourable G.A. King, Minister of Trade Ministers of State (9) The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture The Honourable U.E. Clarke, Minister of State - Regional (East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent - on leave) The Honourable P. Duncan, J.P., Minister of State - Regional (Rupununi)

# Non elected Minister

The Honourable C.A. Nascimento, Minister of State, Office of the Prime Minister The Honourable M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P., Minister of State - Regional (Esseguibo Coast/West Demerara) (Absent - on leave) The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for Home Affairs The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of State - Regional (Mazaruni/ Potaro)(Absent) The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of State - Regional (East Demerara/West Coast Berbice) The Honourable F.U.A. Carmichael, Minister of State - Regional (North West) (Absent) Parliamentary Secretaries (8) Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications Miss M.M. Ackman, Parliamentary Secretary, Cfrice of the Prime Minister, and Government Chief Whip Mr. E.L. Ambrose, Parliamentary Secretary (Agriculture), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture Mr. K.B. Bancrof, Parliamentary Secretary (Hinterland), Ministry of National Development and Agriculture Mr. S. Prashad, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent) Mr. J.P. Chowritmootoo, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education Mr. R.H.O. Corbin, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation (Absent - on leave) Other Members (18) Mr. J.N. Aaron Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Miss. J. Gill Mr. W. Hussain (Absent - on leave) 🗸 Miss S. Jaiserrisingh Mr. K.M.E. Jonas Mr. M. Nissar Dr. L.E. Ramsahoye (Absent - on leave) Mr. J.G. Ramson Mrs. P.A. Rayman Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., J.P. Mr. C. Sukul, J.P. Mr. H.A. Taylor Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mrs. L.E. Willems Members of the Opposition - Liberator Party (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, Deputy Speaker Mrs. E. DaSilva

### OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

#

#

#

#

The Clerk read Prayers.

# Non elected Minister

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

## Leave

to

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted

- (a) Mr. Burnham up to 1st December, 1973;
  - (b) Mr. Hoyte, Mr. Clarke, Mr. Zaheeruddeen, Mr. Corbin and Mr. Stoby for that day's sitting; and
  - (c) Mr. Hussain for two weeks from that day's sitting.

### PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

- By the <u>Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Develop-</u> ment and Agriculture, on behalf of the Prime Minister:
  - (a) Twelfth Annual Report and Statement of Accounts of the Guyana Electricity Corporation for the year ended 31st December, 1972.

## (GSC: 5/8/1)(Circulated)

(2) Audited Accounts of the Guyana State Corporation for the year ended 31st December, 1972. (GSC: 1/8/2)(Circulated)

### INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

## Presentation and First Reading

# MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS (AMENDMENT) BILL 1973 - Bill No. 25/1973

The Minister of Co-operatives and National Mobilisation, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

> A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS ACT 1969 AND OTHER LAWS.

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

# MOTION

### ITEM 1 APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 5/1973

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

### In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 80(2) of the Constitution, the Minister of Finance signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

**BE IT** RESOLVED:

That the Committee of Supply approve of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 5/1973 -Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates for the period ending 31st October, 1973, totalling \$15,976,436.

3

Mrs. DaSilva moved the following amendment to the Schedule to the Financial Paper:

That the supplementary provision of \$2,000 for subhead 9 - Expenses, Elections Commission, of Head 19 - Ministry of Home Affairs, be left out.

The amendment was put and <u>negatived</u> on the following division:

# AGAINST

Mrs. DaSilva	Mrs. Willems
Mr. Singh	Mr. Van Sluytman
lite Stright	Mr. Taylor
	Mr. Sukul
	Mr. Sukhu
	Mrs. Rayman
	Mr. Nissar
	Mr. Jonas
	Miss Jaiserrisingh
	Miss Gill
	Mr. Fowler
	Mr. Corrica
	Mrs. Branco
	Mr. Aaro <del>n</del>
	Mr. Chowritmootoo
	Mr. Bancroft
	Mr. Ambrose
	Miss Ackman
	Mr. Wrights
	Mr. Thomas
	Mr. Nascimento
	Mr. Duncan
	Mr. Kasim
	Mr. Ramsaroop
	Miss Field-Ridley
	Mr. Carrington

2

26

The Schedule to the Financial Paper was under consideration when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

## Assembly resumed.

# SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

# RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to continue consideration of Financial Paper No. 5/1973.

# In Committee of Supply

The consideration of items 109 to 120 was deferred.

The Schedule to the Financial Paper was under consideration when the time agreed for the adjournment was reached.

## Assembly resumed.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 6.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, the 30th of November, 1973.

> S. NARAIN Speaker 30

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 30th November, 1973.